Weird distorted echo on my iMac. Help?

Reaction score
Hi! This is my first time posting on this website, so sorry if I did something wrong.

Whenever I play audio (specifically the Mac sound effects), there’s a weird distorted echo that follows it. I always have my headphones on as to not disturb my roommates.

When I changed my audio output to my Yeti Microphone which accepts headphone jacks, the echo goes away and sound plays as normal. I don’t want to keep my headphones plugged into the mic for technical reasons (I can't play sound from the internet). Is there a way to get rid of the distorted echo?

I have OSX El Capitan 10.11.6 if that helps, and this started about five days ago when I plugged in my new midi keyboard through one of the USB ports.

Reaction score
What exact iMac model do you have?

Does the echo still occur without the midi keyboard plugged in?

What is the make and model of the midi keyboard?

Reaction score
What exact iMac model do you have?

Does the echo still occur without the midi keyboard plugged in?

What is the make and model of the midi keyboard?

My iMac is a Retina 5K, 27-inch, Late 2014 model.

The echo still occurs with the midi keyboard unplugged.

My midi keyboard is a Korg microKEY-25

Spawn_Dooley

Reaction score
The Yeti Mic might have something to do with this echo? Whether or not you have the output set to the Yeti mic, did this issue begin around the same time as you started using the Yeti by any chance?

Reaction score
The Yeti Mic might have something to do with this echo? Whether or not you have the output set to the Yeti mic, did this issue begin around the same time as you started using the Yeti by any chance?

Nope. I had the Yeti for a few years now with no issues.

Cory Cooper

Reaction score
Hello and welcome.

-The echo is heard through headphones...does it do it through the iMac's speakers as well?
-What brand/model are the headphones?