Video editing

Reaction score
I have had a MacBook since 2018 when I ditched Windows 10. I have to admit I am disappointed with the photo editing, management and ability to upload and share. Maybe I am missing something? But when I have to do any serious photo editing, downloading , uploading etc. I have to dig out my trusty old, slow and clunky Lenovo with Windows 7 to get it done. But the issue at hand is I am getting into videos and need some tools to edit and piece individual videos together into a watchable format. What programs or apps would you recommend? I have experience with photos and Adobe Photoshop but am a complete novice regarding videos. I have two iPads plus this iPhone and would like to become proficient in their use, especially regarding the photography features. Briefly there are two areas that I can’t seem to figure out regarding photos on my MacBook. 1, I can’t share a photo to anyone or any website unless I move it to desktop first. No tools seem to be available to allow this function from photos. 2, when I plug in an SD card from my camera the MacBook won’t always read it, and cannot format it???? I get around this by using my Windows computer, but surely there’s a better way?

Reaction score
For videos, you can use iMovie (free) or invest in Final Cut Pro (free trial available).
For photos I use Adobe Lightroom, Gimp and Pixelmator.

You can share from photos by selecting the image and clicking the share icon (square with up arrow) and choosing what to do. i.e Mail, message, airdrop etc.

Cory Cooper

Reaction score
Hi,

Here are a few guides that may help:
-Photos User Guide
-iMovie User Guide

1.) As Lufbrarunner mentioned, you can use the built-in sharing tools in Photos to share in some ways. To get an original out of Photos for uploading to a website, you do need to use File > Export.

2.) What brand/model is the camera, how is the SD card formatted, and what file format are the photos in?

C

Reaction score
Hi,