SOLVED Trying to update Mac mini 2012

Reaction score
Hi all,

I'm new to the world of Mac's, but recently I have updated 2 Mac mini's via open core patcher, so a novice with a little experience. I was so impressed with it all that I bought another Mac mini, but this one is a total pain. It's 2012, I have updated the RAM and memory, but it will not download the legacy installer or even go beyond iOS x. When I have tried to download high Sierra or Catalina it just says "no". I tried logging into my apple account to download and it still said no.

I am at a total loss as to what to do, I can't update the IOS, I can't download legacy patcher (I even downloaded it onto a memory stick, but it said the IOS was too old and could not install it)
IMG_2203.jpeg

I'm at a loss

Reaction score
The 2012 mac mini will be able to run up to macOS 10.15.7 natively, so you will not need to use the Core Patcher unless you are upgrading to either macOS 11 or higher.

You can download macOS 10.15 from software update, or a different installer prior to 10.15 from the links in this article https://support.apple.com/en-us/HT201372 .

If you want to install macOS 11 or newer, you will need to install macOS 10.15.7 and then run the core patcher and reboot.

Reaction score
I have managed to download the installer, after some faffing about, but now I get this part way through the installation. I have reached
the limit of my limited knowledge.

ge
View recent photos.jpeg

Reaction score
It looks like you downloaded an update, not a full OS installer.

What version of macOS is on the mini now, and what OS are you wanting to install?

Reaction score
The computer is on IOSX, the updated I hoped would solve the issues I have with the computer.