[SOLVED] Hard drive installation

Reaction score
Hi..need some help as I am new to Mac's.
My wifes Mac Pro suddenly would not boot. I tried running the tiger os disk to access repair utilities but nothing happens, the screen is on but has a flashing folder with a ? on it. I figured that it was the hard drive so removed that and connected it to my win7 pc and ran MacDrive 8 to access it. I managed to retrieve important data from it but still could no repair it.
With the drive still connected to my pc, I booted with acronis to repair the drive. I found that the drive had a 2meg fat32 and 465meg efi partitions. I could not repair them so deleted the partitions and installed a single partition of 465 gigs formatted with Fat32 thinking that the Tiger os would install if it at least found the drive. The drive seems ok as it is as I can see it in win7 and is ready for use. I put it back into the Mac but the tiger os still wont see it.
I am not sure what the problem is here but can anyone advise on how I can prepare the drive so that the Tiger os will see it and install the os?.

Reaction score
Re: Hard drive installation

Hi, I have seen and corrected this problem many times using Disk Warrior. Get yourself a copy and save some heavy repair bills from your local Mac guy.

Reaction score

Thanks Springerone... I will try that an post the result back here.

Reaction score

Thanks guys, but how do I partition and format the drive under win7. I dont have another mac. I have the drive connected to my pc with an adapter and have acronis 2010 but it doesnt have the Mac OS Extended (Journaled) in its list of partition and formatting types as you have advised. How can I fix the drive from my pc?.

Reaction score