(Solved) Dock problems - missing Applications-icon and transfer folder

Reaction score
I'm quite new to using Mac (OS 10.6) and accidential I have deleted the blue shortcut for applications-folder and transfered files in the Dock. I have tried searching for the problem but can not seem to find anything about restoring these particularly items in the dock.

From the Finder I have tried dragging them down next to the Document icon located to the right in the dock - but with no luck.

Can someone help me?

Spawn_Dooley

Reaction score
Re: Dock problems - missing Applications-icon and transfer folder

Was the shortcut a blue folder icon? Are you missing 2 shortcuts or 1?

From the Finder I have tried dragging them down next to the Document icon located to the right in the dock - but with no luck.

Have you been dragging the file to the right of the broken line as seen in the image below?

20101118-eugy1nawkuuytm3trb3wm2dm4q.jpg

Reaction score

Hi Marty - Yes it was the blue icons for the shortcuts to the Applications and Transfers. When I got the MacBook Air I had 3 blue icons in the right side of the Dock; Documents, Transfers and Applications but unfortunately I now only have 1 blue icon/shortcut for my Documents (stacked folder). So yes I am missing 2....

When I open Finder and try to drag the Application Folder (from the left pane in Finder) down to the Dock (yes I do try dragging it to the right side of the red arrow you have drawn) - but nothing happens.

Can you help me?

Reaction score

Problem solved :)

Instead of dragging the icons from the left pane down to the Dock I tried dragging the folder from the finder down to the Dock - I have not done that previously - only tried doing it from the left pane in Finder where I see my disks etc.

Thank you so much for the inspirational help :)

Spawn_Dooley

Reaction score

Have you rebooted since this? Try dragging the Applications folder from the location in my image, down to the right of the dock: