Saving message help needed

Reaction score
Hi, this is my first time here. I have been using MS word on my MacBook Pro and today started to get the following message:
"Word is unable to save the AutoRecover file in the location you have specified. Make sure that you have specified a valid location for AutoRecover files in Preferences, and that you have permission to write files to the location you specified."
I've never had an issue with saving anything, and the file I am working with is pretty simple, nothing fancy. Can anyone help me to understand the message and what I should be doing to insure my files are properly saved? Thanks in advance!!

I went back to my files after posting this and got this message prior to the above message showing up again:

You cannot save while the file is in use by another process. Try saving the file with a new name. (AutoRecovery save of Inquiry Exemplar S…)

I have not seen any indication of an auto-recovery happening.

Cory Cooper

Reaction score
Hello and welcome.

-What version of OS X?
-What version of Microsoft Office/Word?

Once we have that information, we can provide some suggestions.

C

Reaction score
Hello and welcome.

-What version of OS X?

C
Hi Cory
Thank you for your response. I was able to look through other threads and actually find a solution to my problem. As of EOD yesterday it seemed to be resolved. Glad to have found this forum for the future.
Thanks again!
Jill

Cory Cooper

Reaction score
No worries, glad you got it working.

It may be helpful to others in the future if you would post what fixed the issue, if you have the time.

Be well,

C

Reaction score
Hello and welcome.

-What version of OS X?

C
Hi, this is my first time here. I have been using MS word on my MacBook Pro and today started to get the following message: