New to iPhoto - Need some assistance

Reaction score
Hi! I am coming from a PC and am stumbling my way through iPhoto and iMovie. When I imported photos to my PC, I could name them, e.g., "October 2006" and they would then show up as "October 2006 001", "October 2006 002", etc. When I imported the first batch of photos to our iMac, I put "October 2006" as the roll name and description, since I didn't know what would happen. The photos showed up as "IMG_2519.JPG", "IMG_2520.JPG", etc. I am not seeing "October 2006" anywhere. Is there a way to import using the name I want? Sorry for the simple question, but I am really a beginner here. Thanks!

Reaction score
The name you chose when importing is the name iPhoto saves in its database for the roll of film as a whole (and I suggest changing the setting so that iPhoto displays the roll names in the list through the View menu -> check Film Rolls), it doesn't change the file names at all as far as I know.

If you need them to have other names that what the camera gives them, I would suggest using a program (can't remember any of them now though, sorry) to batch-rename the files prior to importing them to iphoto (or copying the roll to another folder afterwards, naming that folder to whatever you want the roll to be named, batch-rename the files as you wish, deleting the roll and its images in iPhoto [you already have the copies with new names in a new separate folder], then dragging that new folder back to iPhoto to re-import them, lastly remove the folder you created, iPhoto will have copied the images to its library).