Macbook pro 13 mid 2012 not starting up and gives repeated chime sound

Reaction score
Whenever I bootup my mac pro 2012, the screen turns white with a chime and chime sounds repeatedly until I shutdown the mac by pressing the power key for 10 secs.

I have replaced my RAM and hard disk with a working mac, it didn't make any difference.

I have already reset SMC by disconnecting thebattery and pressing the power button for 5 secs.

I couldn't reset NVRAM because after the chime when I press the required key combination, it keeps on repeating the chime without responding to the key press.

Have already tried long pressing D, long pressing control + R.

I have tried booting my mac removing my hard disk and attaching a pendrive with ubuntu on it (this pen drive worked on another mac).

I am a student right now and am trying to avoid any extra expenditure ( like replacing the logic board).

Please suggest how do I diagnose my laptop.

Reaction score
First, what exact OS are you using?

Secondly, what do you mean by "I have replaced my RAM and hard disk with a working mac"? That is a confusing statement. Replacing RAM from another, working Mac makes sense (assuming it is the correct type), but not the hard disk.

Third, have you been making backups to an external drive?

Answering those questions in an accurate manner will be very useful, so that we can help you. Hopefully, you are using an OS that is later than Snow Leopard (OS 10.6.8), and that the Recovery HD partition is there. Also, do you have access (via a friend) to another working Mac?

Last edited:
Reaction score
1. My OS is Mavericks
2. I replaced both RAM and hard disk as I thought there could be a problem with the OS on the hard drive. Anyway I installed the not-working mac's Hard disk and RAM to the working one and it booted up normally.