Font Collections

Discussion in 'Mac OS X' started by Elrich, Dec 23, 2016.

  1. Elrich

    Elrich New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2015
    Messages:
    82
    Likes Received:
    1
    Recently I had a huge problem with my Mac and had to do a clean install. The problem was solved, but I've run into a problem with fonts.

    I had reinstall MS Office and somehow ended up with duplicates of the four Times New Roman fonts -- regular, italic, bold, bold italic. Font Book has turned one copy of each "off".

    I had Times New Roman in a Font Collection, but accessing the collection from Word, I found that TNR was missing. However, even though I'm adding it in Font Book, it still doesn't appear in Word. Any idea what the problem is?
     
    Elrich, Dec 23, 2016
    #1
    1. Advertisements

  2. Elrich

    Cory Cooper Moderator

    Joined:
    May 19, 2004
    Messages:
    5,668
    Likes Received:
    180
    Hello,

    -What version of OS X?
    -Which set of fonts is disabled - the ones installed by Microsoft Office or the ones in the System > Fonts folder?
    -Have you tried switching which set is enabled/disabled in Font Book?

    C
     
    Cory Cooper, Dec 25, 2016
    #2
    1. Advertisements

  3. Elrich

    Elrich New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2015
    Messages:
    82
    Likes Received:
    1
    OS 10.11.6 (El Capitan)

    I hadn't noticed that I could see the path by hovering over the font. The MS ones were the enabled ones. But just now I switched to the other ones and restarted Word, but TNR is still not showing up in the Font Collection there.
     
    Elrich, Dec 26, 2016
    #3
  4. Elrich

    Cory Cooper Moderator

    Joined:
    May 19, 2004
    Messages:
    5,668
    Likes Received:
    180
    OK...

    Which version of Word?

    C
     
    Cory Cooper, Dec 26, 2016
    #4
  5. Elrich

    Elrich New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2015
    Messages:
    82
    Likes Received:
    1
    v 14.7.1
     
    Elrich, Dec 26, 2016
    #5
    1. Advertisements

Ask a Question

Want to reply to this thread or ask your own question?

You'll need to choose a username for the site, which only take a couple of moments (here). After that, you can post your question and our members will help you out.