SOLVED Concerning ext HD and backing up 2 x Macs.

Reaction score
Hi guys, I have been using SuperDuper to back up my MacBook Pro for a couple of years now and would like to know if I can use the same 2TB ext HD to back up my wife's MacBook Air.? I am going to buy SuperDuper for her computer and CleanMyMac has a discount for 2 Macs also as a Christmas present. I would only buy a second 2TB ext HD if really necessary, I would prefer to use the one I have, it has lots of available space.
What do you guys think? Do you backup multiple Macs on one HD? Thanks for you help.
I should add that my specs are both Macs use Mohave 10.14.2 .

Reaction score
It is no a strategy that I would use, if the Drive fails you lose both backups. Much better to have 1 backup per drive.

Cory Cooper

Reaction score
Hello,

I agree with Lufbrarunner. To add to his comments, you would have to have the external partitioned into at least two partitions to use SuperDuper! to clone the two Macs. If you didn't, one clone would overwrite parts of the other. SuperDuper! and Carbon Copy Cloner work differently than Time Machine.

C

Reaction score
Thanks guys. Moving forward, am I correct to assume that if I buy a second ext HD and partition that into 2 sides, say "my mac" and "wife's air" then I could store backups for each from SuperDuper; then I could format my existing ext HD and partition into 2 sides and do exactly the same with that? That would give me 2 back-ups of each, correct? Can I also add Time Machine to these partitions, or would I need to partition each HD 4 ways and add the 2 extra Time Machine back-ups to the extra partitions? Thank You.

Cory Cooper

Reaction score