Wi-Fi access issues

Discussion in 'Mac OS X' started by DaveMcC, Nov 25, 2016.

  1. DaveMcC

    DaveMcC New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2016
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi all,

    I'm hoping someone can help me....
    I've got a MacBook Pro Retina, 13-inch, Late 2013 running OS X 10.9.5

    Recently it has stopped connecting to my BT wifi but happily connects to me free BT wifi with FON?

    If I remove the router and reinstall it will work apfor a couple of days and then stops connecting again and asks me to run the diagnostics which doesn't solve the issue.
     
    DaveMcC, Nov 25, 2016
    #1
    1. Advertisements

  2. DaveMcC

    honestone VIP Member

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2014
    Messages:
    3,168
    Likes Received:
    136
    Location:
    Kent, WA (just south of Seattle, WA)
    First, who is your ISP? And what is "BT wifi with FON" versus "my BT wifi"?
     
    honestone, Nov 25, 2016
    #2
    1. Advertisements

  3. DaveMcC

    DaveMcC New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2016
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    My ISP is BT, I think the "FON" and "my BT wifi" are the same they are non password protected on my router and then I can log into the pop up that appears if I select "FON" with my BT broadband account username and password and it connects like I was at a BT hotspot.
     
    DaveMcC, Nov 25, 2016
    #3
  4. DaveMcC

    honestone VIP Member

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2014
    Messages:
    3,168
    Likes Received:
    136
    Location:
    Kent, WA (just south of Seattle, WA)
    I'm sorry, but I do not know what BT means. My ISP is Comcast.

    Have you received any information/assistance from your ISP regarding this issue?

    Also, when you say "recently", did anything occur around that time that was any different than your normal processing. For example, did you upgrade any software?

    And, by "BT wifi", do you mean your home network? I have two Macs, with the router and "special" modem I need for my Comcast services connected to the Mac Mini, which is upstairs. For my MacBook Air, which is downstairs in my bedroom, it connects seamlessly to my internal network for internet access.
     
    honestone, Nov 26, 2016
    #4
  5. DaveMcC

    kahili New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2016
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    I have the same problem with the same MacBook. Last week I had no problem connecting to my local network, but this week I can't connect even though the network is in my list. Mine has a password, but the option to type it in does not come up. Instead I get the "run diagnostic" option only. My laptop connects automatically to a neighbor's open network, but when I try to switch to mine it says there is no network connection at first, then a message that it can't connect to mine and gives me that diagnostic option. How can I get back the option to use my password to connect? There have been no updates that i am aware of.
     
    kahili, Dec 3, 2016
    #5
  6. DaveMcC

    oldscribe VIP Member

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2012
    Messages:
    1,921
    Likes Received:
    71
    Location:
    Geneve & UK
    Hi DaveMcC,

    If this is a home hub 5 then just turn it off for five mins. With it off you should see your connection as being a FON connection. Still with the HUB off turn the WiFi off on the Macbook. Now power up the HUB and let it cycle through its setup. It should go green then orange then green then finally a solid blue, once you have the solid blue light turn the Macbooks WiFi on look for your network and click it.
    If a FON network pops up just close the box or re tick your network.
     
    oldscribe, Dec 3, 2016
    #6
  7. DaveMcC

    oldscribe VIP Member

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2012
    Messages:
    1,921
    Likes Received:
    71
    Location:
    Geneve & UK
    Hi Kaahili,

    Try resetting your modem first.

    You could try telling the Mac to forget this network then delete it then shut down and re boot the Mac once done re configure the network again, this should prompt for password unless you saved it to key chain when you first set it up.
     
    oldscribe, Dec 3, 2016
    #7
  8. DaveMcC

    ChrisLondon New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2013
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    ChrisLondon, Dec 18, 2016
    #8
    1. Advertisements

Want to reply to this thread or ask your own question?

You'll need to choose a username for the site, which only take a couple of moments (here). After that, you can post your question and our members will help you out.
Similar Threads
  1. salldogs

    slide show issues

    salldogs, Dec 19, 2005, in forum: Mac Applications
    Replies:
    6
    Views:
    1,339
  2. tranceport185

    Hard Drive Issues After Sleep

    tranceport185, Dec 21, 2005, in forum: Mac OS X
    Replies:
    11
    Views:
    1,638
  3. machelpplease

    Issues with IChat MAC OS X 10.4.3

    machelpplease, Jan 19, 2006, in forum: Mac OS X
    Replies:
    14
    Views:
    1,907
  4. rooter

    DVD backup dup'ing issues + which software

    rooter, Feb 13, 2006, in forum: Mac Applications
    Replies:
    1
    Views:
    1,155
  5. caslon

    Home email access issues - help!

    caslon, Apr 28, 2008, in forum: Networking
    Replies:
    0
    Views:
    1,223
    caslon
    Apr 28, 2008
  6. David Ryeburn

    Access denied by access control list

    David Ryeburn, Mar 6, 2010, in forum: Mac
    Replies:
    9
    Views:
    495
    David Ryeburn
    Mar 8, 2010
  7. CK1974
    Replies:
    3
    Views:
    342
    Cory Cooper
    Jun 6, 2016
  8. dennisfcampbell

    wi fi interuptus

    dennisfcampbell, Sep 21, 2016, in forum: Networking
    Replies:
    1
    Views:
    541
    Cory Cooper
    Sep 21, 2016
Loading...