Why Can't I log in to......


Londoner

New Member
Joined
Nov 4, 2014
Messages
58
Reaction score
1
Why can't I connect to www.ancestry.co.uk EVERY time ?

I use Safari as my main browser and I use Firefox as a second one, as I often need two going at once. Safari will only connect to this web site randomly.

One day Safari will connect me and another day it won't !!!!!!!! SO annoying. Firefox will connect me every time. I prefer using Safari, but this is driving me crazy.....it tries to connect, but just doesn't move any further. Another day, it will connect me.

Please can you tell me why this is ?
 
Ad

Advertisements

honestone

New Member
Joined
Sep 17, 2014
Messages
4,855
Reaction score
237
I can get to that site with Google Chrome without any issues. My wife and I will be in the UK by Friday (visiting our oldest son and his wife), and I can try it while we are there. I also just tried it with Safari (which I don't use), and it worked also without problems.
 
Ad

Advertisements

Londoner

New Member
Joined
Nov 4, 2014
Messages
58
Reaction score
1
Yes, I can get it with Firefox, no probs. But as soon as I try with Safari, it won't work. Thing is, when doing my ancestry, I often need two pages open at the same time.

Safari only works on and off with this particular web site, otherwise I use it as my main browser all the time. I just can't understand why it won't connect to www.ancestry.co.uk .............

Hope you and your wife have a fantastic time with your family in England Honestone.
 

honestone

New Member
Joined
Sep 17, 2014
Messages
4,855
Reaction score
237
Thanks. Sorry you are having issues. Again, though, I don't use Safari. Also, can't you have 2 pages open at the same time when using Firefox? And do you have the latest version of Firefox? You can get it from here:

https://www.mozilla.org/en-US/firefox/new/

Yeah, looking forward to our visit. Actually, we are flying to Tenerife on December 31st, staying there till January 7th. Our son got a super villa, it's going to be in the high 60's to low 70's (20 to 22 degrees Centigrade), and gorgeous sunsets near 6:30 PM! We come back to Seattle on January 9th.
 

Londoner

New Member
Joined
Nov 4, 2014
Messages
58
Reaction score
1
Thanks. Sorry you are having issues. Again, though, I don't use Safari. Also, can't you have 2 pages open at the same time when using Firefox? And do you have the latest version of Firefox? You can get it from here:

https://www.mozilla.org/en-US/firefox/new/

Yeah, looking forward to our visit. Actually, we are flying to Tenerife on December 31st, staying there till January 7th. Our son got a super villa, it's going to be in the high 60's to low 70's (20 to 22 degrees Centigrade), and gorgeous sunsets near 6:30 PM! We come back to Seattle on January 9th.
Yes, I can have two windows open at the same time (Safari and Firefox), but it's Safari that will still not open up www.ancestry.co.uk and I just don't know why. It is intermittent.....sometimes will and sometimes won't ! So I'm currently only using Firefox for that website. I love Safari for my desktop and it's my forst choice browser, but I can't understand why this is happening ?

Been to Tenerife and love it there......called "The Island of Eternal Spring" because of the lovely weather. A beautiful island and if this is your first visit then I'm sure you'll love it. Hope you have a fantastic time there with your wife and family.
 
Last edited by a moderator:

honestone

New Member
Joined
Sep 17, 2014
Messages
4,855
Reaction score
237
Do you happen to have the latest version of Safari, V12.0.2? This link describes that newest version:

https://www.macupdate.com/app/mac/15675/apple-safari

As for Tenerife, this will be our first visit to that island. We did visit Lanzarote back in March 2017, and it was nice there also. Excellent sea food, but the ocean was too cold for swimming. Looking forward to Tenerife.
 

honestone

New Member
Joined
Sep 17, 2014
Messages
4,855
Reaction score
237
Now in the UK, at our son's place, and that site works fine for me, whether I use Google Chrome or Safari.
 
Ad

Advertisements

Londoner

New Member
Joined
Nov 4, 2014
Messages
58
Reaction score
1
Thanks SO much for your replies.....really appreciated.

Sadly, nothing worked for me and then I found a free Apple support web site and so contacted them. It took them about 40 minutes to talk me through some suggestions, but ultimately, it worked !

That's the "good news".....since then though, now when I now try to use FIREFOX all I get is GOOGLE !!!!!!
 

Londoner

New Member
Joined
Nov 4, 2014
Messages
58
Reaction score
1
Still can't get rid of Google on my Firefox page when I open Firefox........grrrrrrr
 

indago

New Member
Joined
Sep 11, 2016
Messages
123
Reaction score
0
Why can't I connect to www.ancestry.co.uk EVERY time ?

I use Safari as my main browser and I use Firefox as a second one, as I often need two going at once. Safari will only connect to this web site randomly.

One day Safari will connect me and another day it won't !!!!!!!! SO annoying. Firefox will connect me every time. I prefer using Safari, but this is driving me crazy.....it tries to connect, but just doesn't move any further. Another day, it will connect me.

Please can you tell me why this is ?
I use Safari extensively, and at the end of the day I clear out everything. With the Safari on, click on the Safari in the menu, upper left, and then click on the "clear history". When the menu drops down, clear history. That will give you a fresh start in the morning.

With Firefox, you should be able to select your default browser by using the Preferences.
 
Last edited:

Londoner

New Member
Joined
Nov 4, 2014
Messages
58
Reaction score
1
Hello Cory.......I have my home page set to Google with Safari, which is what I want, so as soon as I click on Safari, Google comes up.

I also like to run the Firefox browser as well, but when I click on Firefox, it opens with Google (although it says in the top left corner that I've opened Firefox).
 
Ad

Advertisements

Cory Cooper

Moderator
Joined
May 19, 2004
Messages
7,335
Reaction score
260
If it shows Firefox in the upper left corner near the  in the menu bar, then Firefox is indeed running. Sounds like Google is the default home page.

This is what mine looks like, running Firefox with Google home page:



Try the steps in the link above to change the home page when Firefox opens.

C
 

Londoner

New Member
Joined
Nov 4, 2014
Messages
58
Reaction score
1
If I follow the steps above Cory, will that "knock off" Safari and Google being my home page ? I want to keep Safari with Google as my first choice home page.........then, like I had before, Firefox as my back up page.
 

Cory Cooper

Moderator
Joined
May 19, 2004
Messages
7,335
Reaction score
260
No, it will only set Google as the home page in Firefox. Safari has its own preferences where you can set Google as the home page for it. You can set a different home page in each web browser separately.

You set your default web browser in  > System Preferences... > General > Default web browser. Whatever web browser you choose there is the one that will load any clicked links in emails, etc.

Hope that helps,

C
 
Ad

Advertisements

honestone

New Member
Joined
Sep 17, 2014
Messages
4,855
Reaction score
237
Cory is exactly correct. Via  > System Preferences... > General > Default web browser, I have the Default web browser set to Google Chrome. Thus, when I click on any clicked link anywhere, Google Chrome starts right up.

Also, when you click on the Up-Down arrow next to  > System Preferences... > General > Default web browser, a list of web browsers on your machine should show up. Mine shows Safari, Firefox, Google Chrome, and Opera (with of course Google Chrome already chosen as my choice).
 
Ad

Advertisements


Ask a Question

Want to reply to this thread or ask your own question?

You'll need to choose a username for the site, which only take a couple of moments. After that, you can post your question and our members will help you out.

Ask a Question

Top