Upgrade from 10.6.8

Reaction score
Hi

Firstly can I say that my background is mainly in MS Windows but I do love my mac for Video editing and Music production.

My Apple imac is at OS X 10.6.8.

I want to run Steam on it but Steam requires at least 10.7 however I cannot find the OS X version 10.7.
Apple always wants me to upgrade to the latest version (MacOS Sierra) however even when I try to upgrade to MacOS Sierra it fails and says that I must be at ver 10.7 before upgrading to Sierra...!

1. Should I upgrade to the latest version (MacOS Sierra) as I purchased my iMac around 2009 (and still has version Snow Leopard that came with the iMac at that time)? Will it seriously slow down my iMac to upgrade to Sierra?
2. How can I upgrade to Sierra from 10.6.8?
3. Can I upgrade to OS X ver 10.7? Where can I find that OS and how do I install it?

Thanks for any help you can give me.

Reaction score
OK, you need to let us know a couple of things:

1. Have you ever done any disk cleanup/maintenance/repairs, from a software perspective? There are some excellent freeware and commercial products that you can use for those efforts.

2. Are you making backups to an external device? That is critical.

3. What exact iMac model do you have? If you let us know that, then most likely we can determine what kind of internal drive you have inside the machine. Also, if it is the original hard drive inside it, it could be getting "old".

4. Besides Steam, do you have any other third party software? If you do, then it might be necessary to upgrade some/all of them to be compatible with the OS you want to move to.

5. What do you use your Mac primarily for? That could be a determining factor as to which OS you should upgrade to.