SOLVED 2009 Mac Pro 4,1 upgrade to Sierra or High Sierra

Reaction score
I need to upgrade my 2009 Mac Pro 4,1 to Sierra or High Sierra. I read a procedure on MacWorld that said there was a problem with wi-fi if there is a Broadcom BCM4321 module, which mine has. Anyone have info on this? I would prefer to keep my El Capitan, but TurboTax requires a later OS.

Cory Cooper

Reaction score
Hello,

They are probably reporting that issue, since the Mac Pro (Early 2009) isn't officially supported past Mac OS X 10.11.6 El Capitan. It sounds like the "hack" to install Sierra or High Sierra doesn't provide the proper hardware driver for the Broadcom module. I am not a proponent of running versions of OS software beyond the officially supported versions, due to issues like this.

There are a couple of things you could do:

1. Install Sierra or High Sierra on an external hard drive and startup from it. You could then use an Ethernet cable instead of Wi-Fi for Internet connectivity to enable use of the latest TurboTax software.

2. Use the TurboTax Online version, which supports Macs running everything from Mac OS X 10.6.x Snow Leopard or later. It also can be used with an iPad (3rd Gen) running iOS 9 or later.

Hope that helps,

C

Reaction score
Thanks, Cory. I would use the TurboTax Online except I do 3 family members tax, and I understand I wouldn't be able to do that with the online version. Right?

Cory Cooper

Reaction score
Ahhh...that sounds correct, but I am not sure. I wonder if it would work with three separate accounts? ;)

Maybe the external drive/Ethernet solution would be better in your situation?

C

Reaction score
That might be the best way. I have 3 drives in my Mac; One has OS 10.6.8 so I can run Photoshop CS3, One has OS10.11.6 for the newer stuff, and one for Backup. I'm getting on in years, and not sure how much longer I'll be able to do what I want to do. May have to break down and get a newer model. Thanks for your help.

Reaction score