Time Capsule - software


Joined
Oct 26, 2016
Messages
95
Reaction score
6
Back in early July I wrote about my apparently failing Time Capsule. In summary the Time Capsule works fine with my 2011 i-Mac but my 2016 MBPro repeatedly announces that the Time Machine has completed a verification of my backups and, to improve reliability it must create a new backup.

This involves removing all earlier backups and starting afresh.

On Friday last I spent a few hours talking with Apple support. No solution was found but I was told that this fault had been logged and over time might make its way into a periodic update.

Would it therefore be reasonable, in hope of a cure, to remove Time Machine, [Time Capsule A1470, v 7.9.1] on a software update v1.3, entirely and re-download a fresh copy?
 
Ad

Advertisements

Cory Cooper

Moderator
Joined
May 19, 2004
Messages
8,723
Reaction score
332
Hello again,

Yes, since you have done a lot of troubleshooting, a good next step would be to erase the Time Capsule completely, and reset it to factory settings. You can then set it up again, and creat brand new Time Machine backups of your Macs.

Of course, it would be a good idea to make a backup with another drive before going through that, so your data is safe.

C
 
Joined
Oct 26, 2016
Messages
95
Reaction score
6
Cory,

Thank you for your comments. I'm going to hold off radical action for a while. Somehow my MBP has resumed taking scheduled back-ups to my Time Capsule - since Thursday 11th. This occurred before the iOS update which I loaded yesterday. There wasn't a sneaky secret update by Apple some other way which might have put right the Time Machine software, was there?
 
Ad

Advertisements

Cory Cooper

Moderator
Joined
May 19, 2004
Messages
8,723
Reaction score
332
Great news!

No, I highly doubt that. I would guess maybe it needed a bit of time to sit and resent itself = computer voodoo.

Glad it's working again.

C
 

Ask a Question

Want to reply to this thread or ask your own question?

You'll need to choose a username for the site, which only take a couple of moments. After that, you can post your question and our members will help you out.

Ask a Question

Top