SOLVED My MAC Mini does not get through a reboot - screen goes black and never comes back

Reaction score
I'm new to my old MAC mini device. When I power on the box, the apple icon shows with a white line across the screen and it continues slowly, till almost to the right hand side end of the line - but then the screen goes black and nothing will make it finish. Nothing else will wake up the screen - nothing happens, Have tried some internet suggestions like reboot to safe and other multiple keys strokes. Cannot get to safe boot. Nothing seems to work. Is there a solution I should try.

Reaction score
Have you tried to startup into the Recovery partition by holding down Command R keys and renstalling the OS?

Reaction score
I'm new to my old MAC mini device. When I power on the box, the apple icon shows with a white line across the screen and it continues slowly, till almost to the right hand side end of the line - but then the screen goes black and nothing will make it finish. Nothing else will wake up the screen - nothing happens, Have tried some internet suggestions like reboot to safe and other multiple keys strokes. Cannot get to safe boot. Nothing seems to work. Is there a solution I should try.
We need some more details regarding the mini. The 2018 model introduced the T2 chip, which was a big change compared to all the previous models. And of course, the introduction of Silicon brought about even more changes into running and troubleshooting. Please try and find out more about it, starting with the model year. And the kind of monitor attached to it can make a difference as well.

Some basic resets you can try are:
SMC - simply unplug the mini and wait about half a minute before plugging it back in.
Parameter Ram - reboot and immediately hold down ⌘-⌥-P-R and keep holding down until the startup chime sounds twice.
Safe Boot - reboot and immediately hold down the Shift key until it brings you to the login screen.