mac 4.2 hard drive help

• format a wiped drive.

Votes: 0 0.0%
  • format wiped drive

Votes: 0 0.0%

• Total voters
  • Poll closed .
Reaction score
I recently purchased a mac 4.2. on ebay the hard drive was wiped and there was a note in the box that said this.

All of our hard drives need to be formatted and / or partitioned. (small lost line goes here.)
securely through our company. all hard drives are put through a wipe process that leaves the drives with no partitions and unformated. hard drives will need to be formatted before use. when loading an operating system, you must change the boot sequence to start up with your type of media (USB,optical drive,whichever) in order to format the drive to load your software. Your computer may require your BIOS setting that the hard drive setting be set to legacy or ATA mode to ready your hard drive.

sorry im a noob at this i have tried allot of the keyboard commands but n gets me a twirling planet then drops back into the ? folder. so it just seems that i need to format the drive is there anything i can do? C dosnt do much either.

Last edited:

Spawn_Dooley

Reaction score
need more info about the mac you purchased … 4.2. isn't enough info.

just give us the exact description as per the ebay listing.

have you booted holding the option key? this boots into startup manager.

Reaction score
APPLE IMAC 4.2 Computer 17"Core 2 DUO T2400 /1GB /160GB W/Keyboard & Mouse#7691#

Operating System
OS Installed There is no operating system installed and discs are not included
Screen Specifications
Screen Size 17"
Resolution 1440 x 900
Screen Type LCD
Touchscreen no
Memory Specifications
Total Memory 1GB
Memory Configuration 2 x 512mb
Memory Slots 2
Memory Type DDR2
Processor Specifications
CPU Type Intel Core 2 DUO T2400
CPU Speed 1.83GHZ
Hard Drive Specifications
Hard Drive Size 160GB
Hard Drive Type SATA
Optical Drive Specifications
Optical Drive CD-RW
Graphics Specifications
Graphics ATI Radeon X1600 graphics processor
Wireless