Is this machine any good

Reaction score
Hello, I hope this is the correct place.

I have been given a Apple MacBook, Model No. A1181, also on the back of it there is N122 Z844.
When I switch it on the Utilities Window appears with the option to Restore, Reinstall, Get Help on line and Disk Utility.
There are no other disks, just the cables.
I have no knowledge about Mac's, being a Linux and Windows 10 person, but I would like to try toget this Mac running if possible without spending a great deal of money on it.

So, my question is;- Can I do anything with this other than throw it away?

Thank you.

Spawn_Dooley

Reaction score
Your MacBook has a Model Number that is shared by 16 other MacBook models. It could be one of the 2006, 2007 or 2008 models.

If you remove the battery you'll see the Serial Number & EMC Number, both which will enable us to properly advise you on which step to take next.

Be sure to provide the information that you see on the actual computer, rather than on the battery.

Reaction score
Thank you Spawn Dooley,
Serial number w87 453 pcohc
emc number 2200, its probably out of the Ark! .

Spawn_Dooley

Reaction score
Did you find any further information in the battery bay for example processor speed, original RAM??

It looks to be one of 3 late 2007 models ... maximum OS Version that you can run is Mac OS X 10.7.5 (Lion) other than that unfortunately the model seems to be no longer supported by Apple which means no security updates.

A fine machine nonetheless but Apple has placed it in the "obsolete" category but if you maxed the RAM out (it is known to be able to take 6GB) it should run fine & it's 64Bit Architecture makes it worthy of being saved from the scrapheap!

You may be able to source the OS media from Apple or otherwise through Amazon or eBay. You just need to be mindful that there are sellers out there flogging install media that just won't work ... the Full Retail version with an X on the disc label is what to look for.