If I don't have MacOS (only windows installed), how do I tell what "gen" my macbook pro is?

Discussion in 'Mac Notebooks' started by mrkrinkle, Jan 10, 2017.

  1. mrkrinkle

    mrkrinkle New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2017
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    If I don't have MacOS (only windows installed), how do I tell what "gen" my macbook pro is? And I don't know the year.?

    I have a macbook pro, circa 2012, I think, not sure. I installed windows 8.1 pro on it; registered/activated. (No macos at all, just windows 8.1), it works, but I don't have the drivers for some parts- the camera, function keys, and most importantly there's no audio at all.

    Every driver package I try doesn't work- "This version of Boot Camp is not intended for this computer model."

    I've tried packages:

    5.1.640
    5.0.5033
    5.1.5640
    5.1.5769

    Also- can someone tell me how to at least find out what "gen" it is? I mean can I do that by model number and/or s/n, and if so, where do I get those numbers and where to look them up? Again, I don't have MacOS installed.

    thank you,
     
    mrkrinkle, Jan 10, 2017
    #1
    1. Advertisements

  2. mrkrinkle

    honestone VIP Member

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2014
    Messages:
    3,177
    Likes Received:
    136
    Location:
    Kent, WA (just south of Seattle, WA)
    Turn your MacBook Pro over. Near the top where the screen "attached" to the body, you'll see some small writing. It will say, on the first line, "Model "so and so"" For example, on my mid 2013 13" MacBook Air, it says "Model A1466 EMC 2632" I can then enter all of that into google, and some "hits" will show up, from which I can tell which "gen" you have. I just did it, and one of the "hits", www.everymac.com, has the exact, correct information about my MacBook Air.
     
    Last edited: Jan 11, 2017
    honestone, Jan 11, 2017
    #2
    1. Advertisements

  3. mrkrinkle

    mrkrinkle New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2017
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thanks, mine says A1286, but there's no EMC number. I looked up the A1286 number but there are so many covering so many years:

    http://www.everymac.com/ultimate-mac-lookup/?search_keywords=a1286

    Oh wait, is it the FCC numbers? I have:

    QDS-BRCM1038

    4324A-BRCM103

    QDS-BRCM1037

    4324a-BRCM1037
     
    Last edited: Jan 11, 2017
    mrkrinkle, Jan 11, 2017
    #3
  4. mrkrinkle

    honestone VIP Member

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2014
    Messages:
    3,177
    Likes Received:
    136
    Location:
    Kent, WA (just south of Seattle, WA)
    Don't know bout FCC numbers. Do you still havre the original Apple box that the machine came in? The serial number (and most likely EMC number, along with specs) would be on the box.
     
    honestone, Jan 11, 2017
    #4
  5. mrkrinkle

    Cory Cooper Moderator

    Joined:
    May 19, 2004
    Messages:
    5,096
    Likes Received:
    149
    Hello and welcome.

    Did you ever have the bottom case of your MacBook Pro replaced? If so, the replacement bottom case doesn't have the serial number imprint on it. If it is the original bottom case, then the serial number should be listed at the very end of the imprinting after the FCC info, or under the icons.

    c
     
    Cory Cooper, Jan 11, 2017
    #5
  6. mrkrinkle

    honestone VIP Member

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2014
    Messages:
    3,177
    Likes Received:
    136
    Location:
    Kent, WA (just south of Seattle, WA)
    Hmm, thanks Cory! I just noticed that on my MacBook Air. It's at the very end of the second line (original bottom case).
     
    honestone, Jan 11, 2017
    #6
  7. mrkrinkle

    mrkrinkle New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2017
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Nope, at the end of the second line it just has the copyright statement. Arrrg! Yea, this wasn't originally mine, so maybe it was refurbished.

    It's a shame- all I need is for the audio to work, I could live without the camera. Actually- you know what- the driver seems fine because when I set the volume in windows it has the bars going up and down as if it's playing the sound. It's as if windows thinks it's making noise but it's not. Also- if I plug in the headphones, it changes the icon to headphones. Odd, right? And when I turn it on, it does the "BOONNG!" so the speakers are physically fine.

    It's as if the drivers and hardware are fine. So why no sound? Odd....
     
    mrkrinkle, Jan 11, 2017
    #7
  8. mrkrinkle

    honestone VIP Member

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2014
    Messages:
    3,177
    Likes Received:
    136
    Location:
    Kent, WA (just south of Seattle, WA)
    Hmm, so you see nothing there that says "Serial"? Again, maybe a MacBook Air is different. Also, when one purchases a refurbished machine, the refurbishment could have been a makeover of the outside, inside parts, or both. I myself have never purchased a refurbished machine, as I am concerned about inheriting other's problems (same goes for used/"certified" cars).
     
    honestone, Jan 11, 2017
    #8
  9. mrkrinkle

    mrkrinkle New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2017
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Sure but even if it's refurbished- how would the speakers work and the drivers work at the same time, but still no sound.... I mean what kind of hardware refurbishing can possible be clever enough (or stupid enough) to make that possibly happen. (Btw I was running Mountain Lion on this mac before and the audio was fine.) Refurbished or not, this doesn't make sense, I don't think we can point at the refurbishing as the problem.

    Thanks for sticking with this.
     
    mrkrinkle, Jan 11, 2017
    #9
  10. mrkrinkle

    honestone VIP Member

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2014
    Messages:
    3,177
    Likes Received:
    136
    Location:
    Kent, WA (just south of Seattle, WA)
    You actually am trying to use a "modified" Mac as an exclusive Windows machine. I am not sure how successful anyone has been by doing that. While it's somewhat true that certain "parts" are "identical" (Intel processors), not sure about other stuff on the Mac.
     
    honestone, Jan 11, 2017
    #10
  11. mrkrinkle

    iMav New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2017
    Messages:
    50
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Columbus, Wisconsin
    If you can grab the ethernet MAC(hardware) address, that would help in identifying the exact model. (you can do this from the command line in Windows with the "ipconfig" command)
     
    iMav, Jan 13, 2017
    #11
    1. Advertisements

Want to reply to this thread or ask your own question?

You'll need to choose a username for the site, which only take a couple of moments (here). After that, you can post your question and our members will help you out.
Similar Threads
  1. Peggy LaCerra
    Replies:
    4
    Views:
    841
    Cory Cooper
    Jul 10, 2016
  2. Steven1000000001
    Replies:
    5
    Views:
    443
    Cory Cooper
    Jul 24, 2016
  3. theALmighty66
    Replies:
    5
    Views:
    657
    theALmighty66
    Dec 4, 2016
  4. Laura Cross
    Replies:
    3
    Views:
    509
  5. Randy Caldwell
    Replies:
    2
    Views:
    576
  6. LindaK
    Replies:
    2
    Views:
    347
    LindaK
    Dec 15, 2016
  7. Tor Ninja

    What is taking up space on my Macbook?

    Tor Ninja, Dec 19, 2016, in forum: Mac OS X
    Replies:
    4
    Views:
    417
    honestone
    Jan 7, 2017
  8. Denise Woodgerd
    Replies:
    1
    Views:
    293
    Cory Cooper
    Jan 3, 2017
Loading...