Help! Can't access Google, Facebook etc.

Reaction score
My MacBook Air (OS X 10.9.5) has started acting weird. Lately it doesn't allow me access to many of the major websites I use like Google and Facebook but smaller e.g. local newspaper sites still work (it can work fine in the morning and then act up in the evening). I don't know what the problem is (and I'm not very good with this sort of thing). We have another Mac in the house and it works fine all the time so with it I've been trying to Google some answers (feels ironic somehow...) and have tried all the usual things like clearing cookies and cache, restarting computer, putting in new DNS (208.67.222.220; 208.67.222.222, not even sure what that is supposed to do but all hail mighty Google). I am at a loss so if anyone has any ideas that could help I would be very grateful.

Reaction score
We need to know the following:

1. What browser are you using?
2. What exact MacBook Air model do you have?
3. Are you making any backups to an external device?
4. Have you been performing any disk cleanup/maintenance?
5. Have you tried another browser?

Reaction score
1. Safari
2. 11-inch, 1.4 GHz Intel Core i5, 4GB 1600MHz DDR3 (from 2014)
3. No
4. I've used the free version of CleanMyMac 3 and have run Avast anti virus.
5. Firefox

And like I wrote, a lot of other sites work (just tried craigslist and IKEA randomly), and Facebook seems to be hit or miss, but the main problem is Google and related stuff like Google docs.

Cory Cooper

Reaction score
Hello and welcome.

-First off, I would uninstall both CleanMyMac and Avast, as they have been known to cause more problems than they are worth.
-When using Google Drive and Google Apps, definitely download and install Google Chrome, as I have seen issues using them via Safari.