Garage Band system overload

Reaction score
I have been recording with Garage Band for about 3 years. In the last few weeks it has been getting more and more unreliable to the point it is nearly unusable (just as I am about to finish an album.) It used to happen only when recording but now i can't even get through a playback or a bounce without a glitch. I have MacBook Pro 13" running Big Sur 8GB memory 170Gig of 500Gig free space. GB version 10.4.3
The messages are
"System Overload. The audio engine was not able to process all required data in time"
or
"Error while trying to synchronize audio and MIDI. Sample rate 42796 recognized. Check conflict between Garage Band and external device."
I regularly lock tracks, disable wifi, and close out of all other programs. I have uninstalled and reinstalled GB.
Any advice greatly appreciated!

Cory Cooper

Reaction score
Hello and welcome.

-Which exact model MacBook Pro?
-What is the brand/model of the MIDI device?
-What other audio devices are connected?
-How many tracks and how many samples/plug-ins?
-Does it only happen on this song?

42796 is a strange sample rate, as the standard is 44100.

C

Reaction score
Hello and welcome.

-Which exact model MacBook Pro?
-What is the brand/model of the MIDI device?
-What other audio devices are connected?
-How many tracks and how many samples/plug-ins?
-Does it only happen on this song?

42796 is a strange sample rate, as the standard is 44100.

C

Thanks for reply.
MacBook Pro (Retina, 13", Early 2015
Processor 2.9 Ghz dual core Intel core is
It happens on multiple songs, and they all played well within the past month. The one I am playing now has 24 tracks- 6 are midi drum, 3 keyboard,(GB sounds played on keyboard controller) the rest vocal, bass, and guitars. Plug-ins are internal GB, except for Klanghelm IVGI2.