SOLVED Recording LP's with Garageband

Reaction score
I recently inherited a large LP collection from my Dad's estate. There are probably 400 albums. They take up a lot of room in storage and I would like to record them before getting rid of them. I want to try to record them onto my MacBook Pro running Mohave 10.14.4 using my IONTT USB 10 turntable and then store the music on an iPod or something similar. I'm a novice so I'm not sure how to use GarageBand and this morning when I tried connecting things, I only recorded sound in the room, not from the turntable. Can someone help me with this project?

Cory Cooper

Reaction score
Hello and welcome.

You have the right idea, but you need to choose the USB input of the IONTT for recording in GarageBand when creating the file/track.

-Create a New Project > Empty Project
-Select Audio > Record using a microphone or line input
-Change My instrument is connected with: and change to the IONTT USB instead of Built-in Input
-Check the box next to I want to hear my instruments as I play and record (you will be able to monitor the turntable input through your speakers/headphones
-Change the I want hear sound from: to Built-in Output for your MacBook Pro, or Headphones if you plug some into the headphone port

Then, when you record, it should be the input from the turntable and not the built-in microphone.

Let us know if that works for you,

C

Reaction score
Hello and welcome.

You have the right idea, but you need to choose the USB input of the IONTT for recording in GarageBand when creating the file/track.

-Create a New Project > Empty Project
-Select Audio > Record using a microphone or line input
-Change My instrument is connected with: and change to the IONTT USB instead of Built-in Input
-Check the box next to I want to hear my instruments as I play and record (you will be able to monitor the turntable input through your speakers/headphones