Dose the Mac have its on security?

Reaction score
Hi, Im new to using a Mac, mine is OSX EL Capitan 10.11.6 and I have just installed McAfee on it, but someone told me they think that Mac already has its own security built in, is this correct and if so do I need to uninstall McAfee?

Reaction score
I wouldn't use McAfee. (I'm a former McAfee/Intel security engineer)

Uninstall McAfee. Goto http://home.sophos.com . Register and install that product. It's free and you can manage up to 10 devices from the cloud console.

Reaction score
I wouldn't use McAfee. (I'm a former McAfee/Intel security engineer)

Uninstall McAfee. Goto http://home.sophos.com . Register and install that product. It's free and you can manage up to 10 devices from the cloud console.

Thank you for your advice, I will uninstall, Im thinking its just a matter of sending McAfee to the bin. Am I correct in thinking that my Mac computer has its own security but using the link you give will be extra security?

Reaction score
macOS does include a few security features...things like a software firewall and whole disk encryption. But it does not include an anti-virus/malware solution. Sophos will provide that protection for you.

Reaction score
macOS does include a few security features...things like a software firewall and whole disk encryption. But it does not include an anti-virus/malware solution. Sophos will provide that protection for you.

Many thanks iMav I have installed Sophos my computerI feels more secure now

Reaction score
Thanks for the link to Sophos, educational for me too.

I'm curious about two things:

1) How big of an issue is anti-virus/malware on the Mac? I don't claim to know, but have done nothing to protect myself for 20 years and so far, knock on silicone, nothing bad has happened. Am I living in a lucky dream world?

But the Mac does not include an anti-virus/malware solution.

2) I'm also curious as to why this is, should you have a theory.

Reaction score