Wiped iMac will not reinstall osx

Reaction score
OK so I'm new to the mac world. I bought a 27" iMac at college school auction model # A1419 SN # D25R10KDGQ18. And so all systems have been wiped clean its 8g ram 1 tb HD. So when I go to the OS X Utilities screen and click on to reinstall Yosemite I do the agree things then it asked for my Apple ID and password I enter all that after picking the untitled HD that has 998.05 total, anyway it accepts my id and PW but then says this item is temporarily unavailable and I have tried it at least 30 times can anyone help me please

Spawn_Dooley

Reaction score
I'm gathering that you had already purchased Yosemite at the App Store for another mac?

Reaction score
I've been doing a lot of OSX installing on a 27 iMac recently. I don't know if this will help, but if you want an older version of OSX (pre-sierra) they are available on Amazon, approx $15. I can suggest a good vendor if desired.

Not sure, but it sounds like you might be doing an Internet install. I tried that too a few days ago, and couldn't get it to work either. In my case, I didn't get any error, but the spinning globe in progress icon spun for hours, so I finally gave up.

Do you have any friends with Macs? If yes, it would be possible to copy their system over to your Mac. Unless they are Mac nerd savvy, this may be more trouble than it's worth, and the Amazon installers would be easier.

That's the best I've got. Good luck!

Cory Cooper

Reaction score
Hello and welcome.

That serial number states that it is an iMac (Retina 5K, 27-inch, Late 2015). It originally shipped with OS X El Capitan 10.11.1 or later, so OS X Yosemite 10.10.x is not supported and cannot be installed.

You should use the steps here to reinstall OS X: About macOS Recovery

Let us know if that doesn't work for you.

C

Reaction score