Time machine, selective restore


Joined
Nov 6, 2021
Messages
2
Reaction score
0
I inadvertently deleted 60-100 files from a folder with 28,000 items, 17Gb in total (A Calibre library)
I started a restore on the folder, but terminated it when it seemed that time machine was gonna restore the whole folder

Is there any way I can prevent Time Machine copying the whole folder; ie just replace the files that are missing ?

Cheers 'n' Beers
 
Ad

Advertisements

Joined
Jan 25, 2017
Messages
1,059
Reaction score
76
In Time Machine open the folder with the required files, hold down the shift key and individually select the files, then press restore. You can select the files in blocks too.
 
Ad

Advertisements

Joined
Nov 6, 2021
Messages
2
Reaction score
0
....but I don't know which files they are !

I was hoping that time machine would compare the contents of the folder with the selected backup and just restore the missing or changed files. It seemed like it was gonna copy all the 28000+ files, which would take hours
 

Ask a Question

Want to reply to this thread or ask your own question?

You'll need to choose a username for the site, which only take a couple of moments. After that, you can post your question and our members will help you out.

Ask a Question

Top