Serious Problems. Need Help.

Reaction score
Hi, I am new to Mac OSX and Macs in general. Two months ago I bought my first iMac, Intel Core 2 Duo. Everything was gravy until about three weeks ago when it froze, and upon reboot I had no access to my wireless mouse or keyboard. I could also not access disk utility or the Bluetooth and Mouse/Keyboard preference panes. I rebooted from the install disc and upon repairing the disk I got what seems to be the dreaded "Invalid Sibling Link". I was pretty lost from here, so I simply reinstalled Mac OSX. So, everything is good again, until tonight. OSX freezes, and upon reboot it will not boot at all. I ran the install disc again and again got the Invalid sibling link message. Very frustrating. So right now I am contemplating reinstalling Mac OSX, again. My problem is, why has this happened again? So soon after I just reinstalled OSX? And twice now in the two months I have owned the computer? I thought mac's were supposed to not have issues compared to PC's?

Anyways, I guess the help I need is some advice as to why this is happening? I have been doing some reading, and noticed that there is a way to erase a disk volume, and to write it over with zero's (Zero Out Data). Is this what I should have done the first time? Could it be that the problem still remained after the reinstall, and then manifested itself three weeks later? Or could there possibly be a hardware issue that is causing this to happen, which is why it has happened twice?

Any advice would be greatly appreciated.

Ric

Reaction score
Hi there and welcome !

You may have a dodgy hard drive, it's hard to tell remotely !

You can also fix (nearly always !) these problems using DiskWarrior It saves you having to reinstall !

When it freezes is there any thing specific that you are doing ?

What software is running ? Is there any pattern to it ?

Mac's generally don't have many problems, so keep smiling !