New to Macs and all things Apple.

Reaction score
Dear All,

Thank you in advance for any help you can provide.

I'm new to mac and Apple products. I currently own a Chromebook and as much as I do love Chromebooks, they just don't offer me what I need anymore.

I also have a Medium size business and my Chromebook could not keep up with my workload

My wife and I have a budget of 200,000 yen ( We live in Japan buy the way and I'm from England Originally )

I have a few questions,

1. I need a computer for creating word documents, excel spreadsheets, maintaining my website, music listening, youtube, Netflix, and some video editing.

2. I have narrowed my choice down to a Mac book air or a Mac book pro 13. Can someone tell me what each system is mainly focused on?

3.My Chromebook had google docs, does mac have something similar or do I need to get Microsoft word?

4. Apple M1 chip with 8-core CPU, 8-core GPU, 16-core Neural Engine, 8GB unified memory ( This is within my budget with money leftover ) is 8b enough ram?

or

2.0GHz quad-core Intel Core i5 processor ( a little over my budget )

Which is better?

5. Can you change the language easily in Mac OS from Japanese to English? ( I don't want to be stuck with Japanese! I heard windows is a nightmare to change languages as you need to order the correct language pack or something )

6. I have the option to choose a keyboard Backlight Magic Keyboard-English (UK), but my wife would like a Japanese Keyboard, if I order a JIS keyboard, will it have Japanese characters and English alphabet characters too? is it a qwerty layout?

7. Should I order Final cut pro when I order the laptop? It's expensive at 38,000 yen...is it suitable for someone who wants to create videos for my website? or is there some free software on the mac book at no extra charge?

Thank you so much for all your help, I'm so sorry for all these questions, but I really have no clue on mac books.

Thank you

Reaction score