New installation on a Macpro 4,1 (2009)

Reaction score
Please forgive my ignorance. I'm a PC guy so this is a new world to me.

I have a customer who came to me because his Macpro tower from 2009 "crashed" on an "update". At startup, the logo shows up and the bar begins to fill but crashes just before it's halfway finished. From what I can tell, the update was an installation of Ventura 13.5.1. I gathered this from the fact that the crash happened right about the same time that 13.5.1 was released. And in recovery mode the drive states that it has 13.5.1 installed on it. I'm guessing this computer should not be running this software since it's last supported OS was El Capitan. But you guys can correct me. I'm no mac expert.

I've created several boot disks with the software "transmac" for different versions of MacOS. But every time I tried installing a different version of a MacOS, the computer would eventually crash. When I tried doing a fresh install on a new exFAT formatted SSD, I couldn't get anything to show up on the screen. At this point, the customer would be fine with a fresh install on his drive and I'm pretty sure he'd be happy with an older version of MacOS. But I can't even do that. Every time I tried installing El Capitan the installation would crash. I have a theory that this is because there is AMD RX570 installed on the system and native support for that card didn't start until High Sierra. I tried created a USB of High Sierra but for whatever reason, the Macpro wouldn't even acknowledge the USB. (This tower has no onboard video.)

Guys, I'm really sorry. This is a completely new world for me. At this point, I would just like to install ANY version of MacOS on his tower. Any thoughts?

Reaction score
Hi there and welcome to the forum. You found the best place to get help with this.

Just some background.... Without patching the the computer, the latest natively supported OS is Mac OS X 10.11.6.