network ethernet connection

Reaction score
hi everyone, i have a emac powerpc g4 and im a currently a student. i have my mac conncted to the internet via a ethernet connection that runs straight into the wall. however only recently i havent ben able to connect to the internet. i have tried other commuters through the ethernet socket in the wall so it is definaltly not the ethernet connection or the socket in the wall that is causing the problem. i think that it is omething to do with my settings on the mac, however i havent changed them. the day before the problem started i had a message on my mac that said that my ip address was being controlled by another device (i think it said something like that anyway)

please ifa nyone can i help i will be most grateful

thanks again

neil

Ric

Reaction score
Hi there and welcome,

The network you are on is shared...each computer must have their own unique IP address (think of it like a postcode..zip code), somehow another computer on the network has got the same as yours.

You are going to need to go into the System prefences and let us know some settings so we can help further..first though what version of OS are you using?

regards

Ric

Ric

Reaction score
Thanks,

Go to System Preferences-->Network and click on the Ethernet Tab on the left...

Can you then either type out how it is set up, or do a Screen grab (command + shift + 3) and post the settings here...

regards

Ric

Ric

Reaction score
Thanks for that, well your Mac is set up using DHCP...which is fine for your situation.

Try shutting down the Mac, wait for 5 mins, then reboot, then have a look in system preferences again...does the IP address change ?

Could there be more than 250ish users on the network at anyone time ?

regards

Ric

Reaction score