need help! macbook boot up problem!!

Reaction score
I am having a problem starting up my Macbook (OSX), and do not have my start-up disk as I am currently traveling, though overwhelmingly in need of my computer.

When I start up my Mac it gives the start-up tone, on the grey screen with the apple icon, then says it is running the OSX software. Then it gets stuck on a blue screen which randomly has the circular pulsing light underneath. It does not go any further than this.

I bought this macbook about 6 months ago and this is the first time I have experienced any problems. I read some of the other threads with similar problems but insofar none have worked, and as I said before I do not have my software disks.

I am a teacher and not very computer savvy so if those helping me could be patient that would be greatly appreciated.

Can anyone help me?

Ric

Reaction score
Hi there and welcome !

Reboot holding down command & s and then follow the instructions here...

Give that a go and see if it helps.

regards

Ric

Reaction score
Hi Ric. thank you for responding. I tried what you asked, and the message at the end was that the system "seemed to be ok." I tried to reboot and the system did the same thing it did before. It was just sitting idle not booting up.

I tried the same thing again, and it is currently doing the same thing, not booting up, and has been for the last twenty minutes.

thank you again for your help.
Is there anything else I can do?

tromply

Reaction score
Hello Ric, Thank you for your response and your help.

I tried what you suggested and it went through ok, but after I rebooted the system it just did the same thing as before: remained stuck on the blue screen with the pulsing circle at the bottom.

I tried it again and left the computer doing this for twenty minutes and it still did not reboot. It said that the system "Mac HD appears to be OK" before I rebooted.

Again thank you for your help.

Is there anything else I can do?

Tromply:confused: