NAS "original item not found"

Reaction score
Hi everyone,

So I'm new to the Mac-world, just got a brand new MacBook Pro 15". It's working great and I love it but I'm having some issues with my NAS set-up and my time machine which I hoped you guys could help with.

I have a (3 months old) Netgear Nighthawk R7000 with a hard drive connected to it, two partitions of 500GB, one to be used as additional storage (my mac only has 256GB) and the other for the time machine.

I've formatted the drive to be OSX extended Journaled on both partitions, connected it to the router and the partitions show on my router web interface as being mounted and "sharing". I then set up the time machine to it and could access it the data partition from the left on my finder whenever I was connected to my home wifi. Time machine worked great for about a week.

Now whenever time machine tries to backup I get "The Backup disk image ... could not be accessed (error (null))" The drive in finder also doesn't always show, in fact, finder sometimes doesn't even always show the router itself. When it does show the drives, if I try to open any of them I get the error "The operation can't be completed because the original item for ... can't be found"

The setup on the router seems fine as far as the router lets me see and my flatmate (who has a 6month old 15" MacBook Pro) can access and use the drive without any issues.

The weirdest part is that it sometimes randomly starts working, yesterday for example my mac managed to send 50GB to time machine before I rebooted it and it stop sending. I also managed to put 20GB of my Data drive manually. Now I can't do anything anymore...:(

First assumed it was due to my VPN (which I'm almost constantly connected to) but yesterday I managed to send data while on VPN and today cannot while disconnected..

If any of you have encountered this issue or know what causes it & how to fix it, please do comment!

Thanks guys really appreciate it.

Reaction score