Moved a bookmark, then came back and it was gone .... Using El Capitan 10.11.6

Reaction score
Hello: newbie here .. I have a macbook pro. Have been using MacBooks since 2008 so familiar with basic routines. I lost a particular bookmark after moving it. Next day it was gone and no longer on the bookmark shelf. I do not use iCloud so I searched for help via duck duck go and all the possible remedies do not work. For example many tell you to go through various steps via launching Finder while holding down the 'option key' at the same time ..... this does nothing .... but while holding down option key then I am told to to select 'Go' then ' Library ' only trouble is I have no Go or Library that appears or is in my favorites sidebar. I did fumble somehow and got to a library file but there is no Safari listed anywhere but under my applications and if clicked it only displays the Safari version logo etc. Therefore I cannot find the file ' Bookmarks.plist' file anywhere as is suppose to be there following these steps. Apparently this file is suppose have all Safari bookmarks. ... I cannot get this far and if I could then you are to directed to select Time Machine, tap back and hit 'Restore' ... etc. I have a Time Machine backup and can access it directly but it only shows the various 'Finder' pages from my past backups ... but afraid to click anything and do an Irish and loose stuff.

So if anyone would care to hold my hand and direct me in getting my bookmark back it would be appreciated

Reaction score
Thanks for your input .... but unfortunately, you are Parroting preciously the same article I critiqued above that simply stated does not work for me .

So here is what I have: