MacBook Pro 15" (Early 2011) charging slowly

Reaction score
New Mac owner here:

I recently purchased a 15-inch MacBook Pro (early 2011) from a friend and have been trying to update everything on it so I can get a few more years of life out of it. It was in great condition and I swapped the HDD for a SSD but as with all old laptops, the battery was wearing out.

I have been to the apple store and they installed a new battery, reset the SMC, and also got me an 85W MagSafe charger to replace the original. The battery life is now what I expect it to be (~4-5 hours). I've been using the new battery for around 2 months without resetting the SMC, hoping it will be able to estimate battery life/charging better because originally it was estimating 20+ hours to charge from 1%.

But even with these new components, the battery seems to take an absurdly long time to charge. It's currently plugged in at 45% with only a few chrome tabs open, estimating 8+ hours to charge... I have also had it asleep and plugged in around 20%, and it takes 7+ hours for the charger LED to turn green.

--> Is this normal for these older laptops? Should I look into replacing the MagSafe power board inside the laptop too? (something I'll probably do myself with parts from amazon, because Apple is asking 5x the price for parts and labor)

Any help into clarifying this would be awesome.

Specs:

MacBook Pro (15-inch, Early 2011) - A1286

macOS Sierra 10.12.1

2.3 GHz Intel Core i7

16 GB 1600 MHz DDR3

AMD Radeon HD 6750M (1GB)

500GB Samsung 850 Evo SSD

Reaction score
Hi,

It's currently plugged in at 45% with only a few chrome tabs open, estimating 8+ hours to charge
Is this normal for these older laptops?

No one of my Macbooks is a white late 2010 model with original battery and runs fine give about 6/7 hr constant use.Think mine takes about 2/3 hr to fully charge from 10%.

I would try the following.

1) Unplug from mains and let the battery drain down to 10% no lower.