MacBook Air won't turn back on after shut down

Reaction score
I have a Mid 2013 MBA that has recently started giving me some issues. Under normal use, it does not respond at all to the power button. The only way I can get it to start, is by opening the back and disconnecting the battery, then pressing power. It will then start, but the fan runs at full speed the whole time, and if I press the power button while it's running, it turns off (dead) instantly. If I do a software reset, it'll restart, if I do a software shut down, I have to do the battery pull to start it again. If I run it without the battery connected, it'll do the same thing, except I have to remove and replace the MagSafe connector in order to restart. I've tried multiple SMC resets, as well as NVRAM/PRAM resets. No change. I've also completely wiped the SSD and did an internet OS reinstall. It exhibits the same behavior with the WiFi and SSD disconnected. I ran diagnostics (D at startup), and got the following errors:

There may be an issue with the System Management Controller (SMC) PFM006

and

There may be an issue with the power management system PPN001

So based on the symptoms, paired with the diagnostic codes, it sounds for sure like an SMC issue, hence, a MLB issue. I couldn't figure it out, and didn't want to just blow $600+ on a MLB without knowing for sure, so I went to the Apple Store, who didn't impress me too much. They told me it could be the battery, the MLB, of the IO board (USB/Audo/MagSafe). But he kept calling the IO board the SMC board, which doesn't make sense to me as I was certain the SMC was on the MLB. So they just want to shotgun parts at it, which I'm trying to avoid. Can anybody give me some insight on this, I've done everything I can think of. I'm prepared to spend the money to fix it, but I want to be sure before I start randomly replacing parts.

Cory Cooper

Reaction score
Hello and welcome.