SOLVED Mac won't boot with particular ssd installed after driver update?


auerdoan

New Member
Joined
Mar 6, 2019
Messages
5
Reaction score
0
Hi, and thanks for your help in advance.
I installed a drawing tablet driver. and my Mac required a reboot
It never rebooted . I tried the command keyboards startups and nothing. so I'm moving on.
luckly I had the older hard drive in with as Mac os as a rainy day rescue
my problem --with that ssd installed I cant boot to my emergency drive.

it only boots with the emergency drive. once I stall the ssd it stalls.

can I tell my Mac to make this working hd priority so if the ssd is installed it won't try to start up using the ssd.
then my goal is to wipe the ssd and migrate my os to this ssd.

again thanks in advance.
 
Ad

Advertisements

Cory Cooper

Moderator
Joined
May 19, 2004
Messages
7,051
Reaction score
247
Hello and welcome.

A few questions for you:
-Which exact model Mac?
-Which version of OS X/macOS?
-Which brand/model drawing tablet and which version of their software?
-Have you tried powering on while holding the Option key until you see the Startup Manager? You should then be able to choose which drive to startup from.

C
 

auerdoan

New Member
Joined
Mar 6, 2019
Messages
5
Reaction score
0
Hello and welcome.

A few questions for you:
-Which exact model Mac?
-Which version of OS X/macOS?
-Which brand/model drawing tablet and which version of their software?
-Have you tried powering on while holding the Option key until you see the Startup Manager? You should then be able to choose which drive to startup from.

C
mid 2010 Mac Pro
running Mojave 10.14.3
wascom- which I returned
tried lots o start ups scenario's I will give this one a try though
 

auerdoan

New Member
Joined
Mar 6, 2019
Messages
5
Reaction score
0
mid 2010 Mac Pro
running Mojave 10.14.3
wascom- which I returned
tried lots o start ups scenario's I will give this one a try though
no luv with the options key held it for like 2 minuts
 

auerdoan

New Member
Joined
Mar 6, 2019
Messages
5
Reaction score
0
I would consider hot insertion of the ssd but with the system running but I'm not brave ..

not sure if that device is designed for hot swap
I guess I should look it up..
 

auerdoan

New Member
Joined
Mar 6, 2019
Messages
5
Reaction score
0
ok I actually tried a differant hard drive slot I was previously using 1 and 2 starting at the left side
I tried it in the far right and it booted.

I hope this helps anyone else who comes across this issue
 
Ad

Advertisements

Cory Cooper

Moderator
Joined
May 19, 2004
Messages
7,051
Reaction score
247
Hello,

No, the SATA drives/bays in the Mac Pro are not hot-swappable. I vaguely remember hearing about a similar issue.

Glad you found a solution, and thanks for letting us know so it may help others in the future.

C
 

Ask a Question

Want to reply to this thread or ask your own question?

You'll need to choose a username for the site, which only take a couple of moments. After that, you can post your question and our members will help you out.

Ask a Question

Top