Mac will not boot into mac OS after installing windows 10


Joined
Jul 4, 2016
Messages
3
Reaction score
0
Please help me I'm completely desparate. I have tried to install windows 10 and it completely messed up my macbook pro system, I cannot boot into my mac, and it's full with things I desperately need.

My mac os doesn't show up in the Macs start up when pressing "option". Also, Pressing "boot into os x" from windows doesn't work either but just boots into windows OS all over again.

Using internet recovery mode, I see in diskutility all the drives except the boot camp drive are unmounted and grey, and their names changed from "macintosh hd" etc that they were to default names, and they are impossible to mount.

Attached the screenshot of my disk utility, and of diskutil list, diskutil cs list (nothing) and -r show /dev/disk0

<img src="http://i.imgur.com/Ii07wCC.jpg">

<img src="http://i.imgur.com/PVO9Laf.jpg">

<img src="http://i.imgur.com/MHXSrhx.jpg">



The mac system should be installed on the one labeled disk0s2.. I have no idea what's going on and how it happend

Please please help, it's very important and I'm hopeless..

Thank you
 
Ad

Advertisements

Cory Cooper

Moderator
Joined
May 19, 2004
Messages
9,333
Reaction score
378
Hello and welcome.

-Which version of OS X?
-Do you have a Time Machine or other backup created before you attempted the Boot Camp setup?
-Did you use the Boot Camp Assistant to create the Windows partition?

It looks like possibly you accidentally reformatted your OS X partition when trying to partition for Windows. Not sure why you have so many partitions?

C
 
Joined
Jul 4, 2016
Messages
3
Reaction score
0
Hello,

OS X El Capitan
No backups :( (I'm an idiot, I know).
I did use the assistant but I tried to repartition the drive using a software after installation and that's how it happend.
I have no clue about the partitions and their number and why I have so many.

Anything to do?
 

Cory Cooper

Moderator
Joined
May 19, 2004
Messages
9,333
Reaction score
378
What software did you use to repartition after installation? I would bet that software is why there are multiple unformatted partitions.

It really sounds like the OS X partition is gone. The three disk partitions labeled disk0s2, disk0s3, and disk0s4 won't mount, because they are seen as unformatted. Data recovery would probably be the only option here - it can be VERY expensive. Third-party software data recovery apps do work to some degree, but I haven't ever had great results with them.

Sorry for the bad news,

C
 
Joined
Jul 4, 2016
Messages
3
Reaction score
0
Hello,

No way to somehow access raw data on the computer? If I could somehow just get the notes from my mac users that would be enough.. ideas?
 
Ad

Advertisements

Cory Cooper

Moderator
Joined
May 19, 2004
Messages
9,333
Reaction score
378
No way to access the data unless the drive will mount.

Do you mean the Notes app? Were you logged in and using iCloud?

C
 
Ad

Advertisements


Ask a Question

Want to reply to this thread or ask your own question?

You'll need to choose a username for the site, which only take a couple of moments. After that, you can post your question and our members will help you out.

Ask a Question

Top