Mac Mail outgoing mail service


jmears

New Member
Joined
Oct 4, 2016
Messages
12
Reaction score
0
Mac Mail
Please can someone help? I have tried endless times to fix this as instructed by various help sites but always get so far and come to a wall. The message copied below tells me to select a server from the list but there never is a list?
"This message could not be sent because your account does not have a preferred outgoing mail server. Select an outgoing mail server from the list below".
I have tried so many times with different solutions but there is obviously something missing from my system.

HELP PLEASE
 
Ad

Advertisements

jmears

New Member
Joined
Oct 4, 2016
Messages
12
Reaction score
0
What are the SMTP server settings in your email account
Many thanks for your rapid response Lufbrarunner.
In the 'Accounts info' "OutgoingMail Server (SMTP) is shown as "NONE". When I click on this box, the only other option is "EDIT SMTP SERVER LIST". When I open that, a box appears with "Server Description etc" THIS BOX IS EMPTY! Where do I go from here?
 

Lufbrarunner

New Member
Joined
Jan 25, 2017
Messages
485
Reaction score
26
Can you edit your account details to fill in the SMTP server address
 

jmears

New Member
Joined
Oct 4, 2016
Messages
12
Reaction score
0
Many thanks for your rapid response Lufbrarunner.
In the 'Accounts info' "OutgoingMail Server (SMTP) is shown as "NONE". When I click on this box, the only other option is "EDIT SMTP SERVER LIST". When I open that, a box appears with "Server Description etc" THIS BOX IS EMPTY! Where do I go from here?
Can you edit your account details to fill in the SMTP server address
Hi again.
I can get the "EDIT SMTP" box down but it won't let me put anything in it!
John
 

honestone

New Member
Joined
Sep 17, 2014
Messages
4,855
Reaction score
237
You will need to get that SMTP server "designation" from your Internet Service Provider (ISP). You can then fill in that entry.
 
Last edited:
Ad

Advertisements

jmears

New Member
Joined
Oct 4, 2016
Messages
12
Reaction score
0
Hi again.
I can get the "EDIT SMTP" box down but it won't let me put anything in it!
John
Hi again,

I have had a very discussion with TalkTalk and they have sent me their Email settings (IMAP & POP3)
However, whatever I try, I still get the SMTP missing message. Is it Talktalk or Apple?
This is driving me crazy and wasting my life!
Should I ditch the Talktalk server and use a different one? I have tried "Thunderbird" but find it not so user friendly as Mac Mail. Any suggestions?
 

Lufbrarunner

New Member
Joined
Jan 25, 2017
Messages
485
Reaction score
26
The SMTP relates to TalkTalk it should be something like smtp.talktalk.net
 

jmears

New Member
Joined
Oct 4, 2016
Messages
12
Reaction score
0
That is exactly what it is but although I put everything in as advised, it still tells me I don't have a preferred outgoing mail server!
 
Ad

Advertisements

honestone

New Member
Joined
Sep 17, 2014
Messages
4,855
Reaction score
237
My ISP is XFinity (aka, Comcast), and here is the link to their instructions on setting up EMail for their servers:

https://www.xfinity.com/support/articles/email-client-programs-with-xfinity-email

Here are all of the results I found when I did a google search of "Setting Up EMail on TalkTalk":

https://www.google.com/search?rlz=1C5CHFA_enUS628US629&ei=HhxbXMfWEsOS0wKb-aKIDQ&q=Setting+Up+EMail+on+TalkTalk&oq=Setting+Up+EMail+on+TalkTalk&gs_l=psy-ab.12..0i30j0i8i30l9.7394.8576..11983...1.0..0.57.156.3......0....1..gws-wiz.......0i71j0i13i30j0i8i13i30.0U8VS38yadQ

And here is one of those links:

https://settings.email/talktalk-net-email-settings/

And here is one result for "Setting Up POP3 EMail on TalkTalk":

https://community.talktalk.co.uk/t5/Articles/Email-settings-IMAP-amp-POP3/ta-p/2204399

Pay careful attention to the Port settings. Maybe that is something you need to set in Apple Mail. I know I can easily do it in Thunderbird.
 
Last edited:

Ask a Question

Want to reply to this thread or ask your own question?

You'll need to choose a username for the site, which only take a couple of moments. After that, you can post your question and our members will help you out.

Ask a Question

Top