Mac freezes after entering login details

Reaction score
Hi,

I work in IT and our organisation is about to begin supporting 5 macs on out network (something they have put of for a while)
I'm the new guy so I have been given the task - I got the mac working on the domain but now all of a sudden it won't load a user account.

When I say it won't load an account I mean local or network.
It starts up ok - and brings up the login screen. You click the username from the list and put in the password and as soon as you press login/enter - it freezes.

It shows the white and blue loading bar (which never moves) and then the cursor turns into the rainbow ring. That's it. I can't do anything except restart. I have left it for a fair while and it never goes anywhere.

Any ideas what I could try?
I can't get into the local admin account either through normal or safe mode.

I saw somewhere that I could delete some temp account files - which could cause a problem. Could I boot into a live linux disk and remove them through there?

Don't facy going to the lady who owns the mac to say I broke it so want to try what I can before asking for the disk

I am a Windows user so this is fairly new although I have gathered some experience along the way.
Its a Mac Mini running OSX 10.6...hope thats of some help!

If there are any logs I can get to help find a reason or anything that can be deleted without loosing the data and accounts that would be grand!

Thanks

Reaction score
Given this is a commercial problem, why haven't you received some profession development. There are lots of good Mac support people who would gladly get paid to come and show you how easy it is to get Macs onto all manner of networks. I'm available if you can't find someone local;-)

NO, don't put a Linux disk in there, OSX and Linux are different, very different.
Don't go deleting or editing the Unix under pinnings, you'll really stuff it up!