Loading a macbook after purchase

Reaction score
Hi Guys and gals thanks for letting me join
The pronlem i have is that i bought a macbook 2016 from an auction of bankrupted stock the macbook has been cleaned however when i load up with OS catalina it always comes to a page asking me to put login details for a remote management until then i cannot load the Os is this normal as im new to macbooks and is there a way around this
Thanks for any help in this matter

Reaction score
Hi Milly72,

Could you explain what you mean by "remote management"? Also, where are you getting the Catalina Installer file from? And even more basic, how are you trying to install Catalina, ie, what steps are you taking?

Reaction score
Hi i bought Catalina from a seller on ebay and its loading fine by usb
When the Os is loading for first time i get to a page with remote management asking for login details

Reaction score
I wonder how "clean" the internal device on the machine is. It sounds like there is still User/Admin account "credentials" on that device, and hence the need for a password. Still don't understand what remote management means.

How are you starting up the machine? Please describe as detailed as possible the process you are going through.

Also, when you say Catalina is "loading fine", do you mean at the beginning of the installation of Catalina from the USB device? Or does it complete the installation, but then asks for the login details?

Reaction score
This is the page

Attachments

• 6KC6g.jpg
    6KC6g.jpg
    49.5 KB · Views: 75
Reaction score
Is that the first screen you see when you start up the machine?

Hmm, it seems the machine/device was named IBM by the prior owner, and given what that screen says (I have never seen it before), the machine still has IBM's credentials on it.

Also, how then do you try and load Catalina?