Is it possible to run Sierra on Mac Pro 1.1 2006?


Joined
May 15, 2019
Messages
6
Reaction score
0
Hi, does anyone know if it's possible to run Sierra on a 2006 Mac Pro?

I read that some people got Mavericks working on one but I need at least Sierra.

My old Mac Pro has an SSD drive, 32gb RAM, 1gb GPU and 2 dual cores, would it in theory be able to run sierra?

Thanks
 
Ad

Advertisements

Cory Cooper

Moderator
Joined
May 19, 2004
Messages
10,558
Reaction score
449
Hello,

Unfortunately, there isn't any way to get Sierra running on that original Mac Pro. Officially, the latest version of OS X that will run is 10.7.5 Lion. There have been some hacks that allow installing later versions of OS X/macOS on "unsupported" Macs, but it isn't something I recommend.

Is there a specific need you have to tun Sierra?

C
 
Ad

Advertisements

Joined
May 15, 2019
Messages
6
Reaction score
0
I've been stuck on Lion for a long time. I wanted to get some new plugins for Logic and the minimum requirements are Sierra. I did get a newer mac for this, but it's already dead, so my only other option seems to be to upgrade my 2006 mac pro, that still works perfectly well, it's just that I can't update anything
 

Ask a Question

Want to reply to this thread or ask your own question?

You'll need to choose a username for the site, which only take a couple of moments. After that, you can post your question and our members will help you out.

Ask a Question

Top