Intel or M1?

Reaction score
help! i was all excited to pull the trigger on a new macbook pro this week, and now i learn about the M1 chip version coming out in 2021. what do i do?? will it really be worth waiting? thanks for the help i am no expert here

Cory Cooper

Reaction score
Hello and welcome.

The new Apple Silicon models are definitely the future for Macs, as they are replacing the current Intel models. It really depends on what your usage is, and what software you may currently have.

The new M1-based Macs are really fast, and Big Sur is totally optimized to run on them. You can find some discounts on current Intel MacBook Air, 13" MacBook Pro, and Mac mini models, as they have already been replaced by the Apple M1 models. Sounds like the MacBook Pro and iMac models will be next, but there isn't an actual date as of yet.

Here is a nice comparison: Apple M1 MacBook Pro vs. Intel MacBook Pro (13-Inch) Buyer's Guide

It may hint at some of the differences that may move to the forthcoming 16" MacBook Pros.

Hope that helps,

C

Reaction score
Hello and welcome.

The new Apple Silicon models are definitely the future for Macs, as they are replacing the current Intel models. It really depends on what your usage is, and what software you may currently have.

The new M1-based Macs are really fast, and Big Sur is totally optimized to run on them. You can find some discounts on current Intel MacBook Air, 13" MacBook Pro, and Mac mini models, as they have already been replaced by the Apple M1 models. Sounds like the MacBook Pro and iMac models will be next, but there isn't an actual date as of yet.

Here is a nice comparison: Apple M1 MacBook Pro vs. Intel MacBook Pro (13-Inch) Buyer's Guide

It may hint at some of the differences that may move to the forthcoming 16" MacBook Pros.

Hope that helps,

C