Help for a Newbie?

svm

Reaction score
I am an freelance IT Consultant who just acquired his second MAC. Unfortunately, this one does not run an OS from ClarisWorks (yes, my last MAC was a PowerPC with a PC board).

While setting up and playing around with the iMAC, I thought I could repair it. So, this is a nice time to learn. The media for MAC OS X Mavericks is not included with the machine. It is also not available to purchase or download from Apple. Am I missing something?

Is the OS X based on Linux? Where is the File Manager/Explorer? How do I uninstall Applications?

Spawn_Dooley

Reaction score
The file manager is called Finder … it's what you see when the desktop is active & when you press Shift Command () H a Finder window opens. You can navigate around your Home Directory (H is for Home, with the same Shift Command switch out the H for A for Apps & U for Utilities)

Also look at Finder Preferences, found under Finder in the Menubar.

Drag an app to the Trash to uninstall it. Any files left behind are usually miniscule. However some App Installers also come with a dedicated Uninstaller which is needed to do the job properly. Adobe is one that springs to mind.

I believe the OS is based on Linux but I don't know anything about Linux so can't comment further.

Regarding Mac OS X Mavericks, yep it's been removed from the App Store now Yosemite is out but it's available for download if you previously downloaded it. So if that's not the case I can't say where you can source it. If you have previously purchased it just log in to the App Store with your AppleID & look for past purchases & redownload it.

Sorry if this is confusing.

svm

Reaction score
Spawn,

Thanks. I am trying to download Yosimite now. I don't see a download link for the ISO images. I, typically use the Add/Remove programs in Windows which removes the application. Any left-over folders (Program Files|Program Files (x86) can be removed following the uninstall. How would I clean up in OS X?