Hello from Anita

Reaction score
I am new to Machelp and I think that I have emailed the wrong contact regarding my problem.

Can anyone help me with a problem with Safari not loading web pages. I did an
SMC update to try and solve my Macbook 5.2 suddenly shutting down on battery and it broke Safari.

I am running Snow Leopard and the Mac Store won't let me update to Mavericks which I have read could solve the problem. I dont want Yosomite because it wont run my Office software

Any ideas please

Reaction score
Hi Anita,

Welcome to the forums. Hopefully, you can get the help you need.

Regarding the upgrade to Mavericks, the first thing to make sure of is that you are running the last update to Snow Leopard, OS 10.6.8. You can confirm that by selecting Software Update from the Apple Menu. If it tells you that you are running anything less, you should be able to upgrade. Here is a link from a google search I just did on "Can one upgrade from Snow Leopard to Mavericks?":

https://discussions.apple.com/thread/5652878

(Your machine can be upgraded, by the way).

Next, not sure what you mean by "I dont want Yosomite because it wont run my Office software". I have Office 2011 on both of my machines, and have no issues at all running Word, Excel, and Outlook under Yosemite. So, please amplify what you mean by that statement.

Reaction score
Hi honestone

Thanks for the Mavericks info - I will follow through. I am using OS 10.6.8

I downloaded Yosemite and when I installed , there was a message saying I could not run Office under Yosemite. My Word for Mac is wobbley but I do use Excel a lot and don't want to lose the data. Did this not happen to you?

Reaction score
Anita,