HARD DRIVE AWOL

Reaction score
Hi Folks,

I have been experiencing mega issues with my mac and related products and I'm wondering if anyone might have the knowledge and be willing to assist.

First of I am not tech savvy so please assume very little knowledge on my part.

I have been working on a hobby website since 2014, picking it up periodically and then becoming too busy with work so leaving it untouched, sometimes for many months, even years.

I purchased both Adobe Photoshop CS6 and Adobe Dreamweaver CS6 - way back circa 2014 - I appear also to have Adobe Bridge CS6 which presumably came with the package as I've never used it.

The start of my many problems, good time to get a cup of tea ;o) began when I upgraded from High Sierra to Mojave, for some reason I cannot recall, I think some other software wouldn't work in anything less than Mojave so I upgraded.

I had taken the precaution to google whether Dreamweaver CS6 worked okay with OS Mojave and foolishly took the first available answer which unfortunately stated that Dreamweaver CS6 did work with Mojave, I have since come across the many other correct answers stating that the most up to date OS that works with Dreamweaver CS6 is High Sierra.

At this stage I was trying to download a High Sierra Installer as I though I might be able to reboot into this OS.

Please remember earlier warning regarding my level of knowledge.

This is when my personal nightmare began.

Having googled seeking advice as to the best/safest/ possibly only, way of “downgrading” an OS on my Mac was to purchase a hard drive back up and reset my mac to the OS it shipped with – MAVERICKS – and the use Time Machine to restore all of my data.

I purchased a 2TB SSD and connected it via a USB port on my mac.