Flashing folder icon please help!

Reaction score
Hello
Macbook pro here. On startup, it shows a file folder flashing with a question mark. I am actually a computer tech so I'm very familiar with these things, however the shop is just getting into macbook repairs. I've seen this issue before and successfully recovered the system from scratch but I can't for the life of me remember what I did and not much seems to be working.

It is like this on bootup. The hard drive was pulled, tested and the drive boots fine and is showing no errors at all. HD was installed back in the machine - same problem. So it is not a loose connection.
User had no backups , etc. We made a backup on a thumb drive of Maverick from another macbook we had. When we put that USB drive into the macbook pro in question - it gives us the appropriate screen where we can install OS, etc. However, it's not picking up the HD. It's only picking up the USB drive. It's picking up the USB drive and the software on it but would only allow us to install OS on that USB drive. No hard drive detected. Not in disk utility either. I know I've seen this before, I just can't get past this. We know the HD is fine. Please help

Thanks

Reaction score
Just a quick tip if you haven't tried this already - Try dragging the folder out of your dock then drag it back into your dock!
If That doesn't reply i can help

Reaction score
The dock? I think you misunderstand... there is no dock. The OS doesn't load. When the macbook is turned on, it goes right to a white screen which has a file folder icon flashing with a question mark.

Thanks

Reaction score
The dock? I think you misunderstand... there is no dock. The OS doesn't load. When the macbook is turned on, it goes right to a white screen which has a file folder icon flashing with a question mark.

Thanks
aha i found it, i found the same problem in the mac forums (apple)!

Reaction score

Thanks
If a flashing question mark appears when you start your Mac