Finder can't see Airport HD

Discussion in 'Networking' started by tharrso, Mar 10, 2017.

  1. tharrso

    tharrso New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2017
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    0
    I have an Airport/time Capsule that is connected to a printer and three Macs.Up until a few days ago I could see the Airport HD from any of the Macs and transfer files to and from it. Now it has disappeared from Finder on all the Macs. The other Macs are visible and they all still connect to the internet without any problems.
    Would my HD just die without any error messages? How can I reconnect to it or test to see if it's still alive? I've made no recent changes in the network.
    Any help greatly appreciated.
     
    tharrso, Mar 10, 2017
    #1
    1. Advertisements

  2. tharrso

    Lufbrarunner New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2017
    Messages:
    167
    Likes Received:
    7
    Location:
    Loughborough, Leicestershire, UK
    When you are in Finder, on the left hand side menu, if you hover your mouse pointer over "Shared" does 'Hide' or 'Show' appear?
     
    Lufbrarunner, Mar 10, 2017
    #2
    1. Advertisements

  3. tharrso

    tharrso New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2017
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    0
    It says "Hide" and one of the other Macs appears in the list below.
     
    tharrso, Mar 10, 2017
    #3
  4. tharrso

    Cory Cooper Moderator

    Joined:
    May 19, 2004
    Messages:
    5,944
    Likes Received:
    193
    Hello and welcome.

    Which exact model is the Time Capsule?

    All ard drive fail...it's not a matter of if, but when. And yes, it can simply just fail without warning. That doesn't mean that is what has happened in this instance.

    You could try the steps listed here: Verify, repair, or erase an AirPort Time Capsule drive.

    C
     
    Cory Cooper, Mar 11, 2017
    #4
  5. tharrso

    tharrso New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2017
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    0
    The model number is A1355. I guess it's about 6 years old.
    Thanks for the link. I'll try it.
    ...
    Airport Utility says "Integrated Hard drive needs repair"
    There was also a firmware update available and I tried to install it. Result: Now I've lost Wifi as well as the HD. I'm afraid it looks like this time Capsule is toast.

    Any suggestions on HD recovery?

    Ted
     
    Last edited: Mar 11, 2017
    tharrso, Mar 11, 2017
    #5
  6. tharrso

    Cory Cooper Moderator

    Joined:
    May 19, 2004
    Messages:
    5,944
    Likes Received:
    193
    The A1355 should be a Time Capsule 802.11n (3rd Generation) with a 1 TB or 2 TB hard drive in it:
    [​IMG]
    Unfortunately, that model is now Vintage, so it cannot be repaired or swapped. Since it is no longer serviceable, you could try to removed the HD and use a HD dock or enclosure to see if it is still operational. However, the drive could have failed, and trying to get it to mount could prevent data recovery. Third-party companies charge quite a bit of money to recover data from failed hard drives...from several hundred dollars up to $1 per GB.

    -Is it still accessible via Ethernet?
    -Is this your only data backup, or do you have another hard drive with your files on it?

    It's a tough spot to be in...sorry.

    C
     
    Cory Cooper, Mar 12, 2017
    #6
    1. Advertisements

Ask a Question

Want to reply to this thread or ask your own question?

You'll need to choose a username for the site, which only take a couple of moments (here). After that, you can post your question and our members will help you out.