Downgrade apfs to hfs+ in high sierra using Terminal

Reaction score
I'm a total newbie re Terminal, but need to downgrade the SSD on my iMac from apfs to hfs+. I tried disk utility but it didn't work (won't allow erasing once apfs is in place). So I went to Terminal, typed in 'diskutil list' and this is what came up:
/dev/disk0 (internal, physical):

#: TYPE NAME SIZE IDENTIFIER
0: GUID_partition_scheme *121.3 GB disk0
1: EFI EFI 209.7 MB disk0s1
2: Apple_APFS Container disk2 121.1 GB disk0s2

/dev/disk2 (synthesized):
0: APFS Container Scheme - +121.1 GB disk2
Physical Store disk0s2
1: APFS Volume SSD DRIVE 13.3 GB disk2s1
2: APFS Volume Preboot 43.6 MB disk2s2
3: APFS Volume Recovery 1.0 GB disk2s3
4: APFS Volume VM 2.1 GB disk2s4

Not knowing which name was the correct one, the following is what I typed in based on one piece of advice that I read:
diskutil eraseDisk JHFS+ SSD DRIVE /dev/disk0s2

the response in Terminal was 'Unknown partition scheme: DRIVE'

Then I tried:
diskutil eraseDisk JHFS+ SSD DRIVE /dev/disk0
Again, Terminal replied in the same way.

'SSD DRIVE' is the name of the SSD on my desktop. Is that the correct name for the SSD?

What am I doing wrong?

Reaction score
I'm a total newbie re Terminal, but need to downgrade the SSD on my iMac from apfs to hfs+. I tried disk utility but it didn't work (won't allow erasing once apfs is in place). So I went to Terminal, typed in 'diskutil list' and this is what came up:

0: GUID_partition_scheme *121.3 GB disk0
1: EFI EFI 209.7 MB disk0s1
2: Apple_APFS Container disk2 121.1 GB disk0s2

/dev/disk2 (synthesized):
0: APFS Container Scheme - +121.1 GB disk2
Physical Store disk0s2
1: APFS Volume SSD DRIVE 13.3 GB disk2s1
2: APFS Volume Preboot 43.6 MB disk2s2
3: APFS Volume Recovery 1.0 GB disk2s3
4: APFS Volume VM 2.1 GB disk2s4

Not knowing which name was the correct one, the following is what I typed in based on one piece of advice that I read:
diskutil eraseDisk JHFS+ SSD DRIVE /dev/disk0s2