Cracked Display - Lowering Resolution

Reaction score
Cracked Display - Lowering Resolution (Aspect Ratio)

I'm studying abroad in Europe so the convenience of the US isn't available. My Macbook Pro 15" with Retina Display cracked (and I don't know how - it's literally in perfect condition everywhere because I have had a case on it and I've been careful). There isn't a scratch or dent on the whole laptop, but somehow this broke. I use a special bag that has a laptop sleeve for extra padding on top of my case, so it breaking really annoys me.

What it looks like: (Attached)

Two Issues:
  1. I want to FIX the display, but I'm having issues with accessing warranty from here in Europe:
    I can GUARANTEE that it wasn't some accident, I didn't drop it, but the French people are less than helpful and I can't communicate with them. I need to send the laptop back to the states anyways (for my brother), but I want to ensure that my warranty does cover the repair. When I type my serial number in on mac support, it says warranty is still active (attached. it says "Repairs and Service Coverage: Active"). Before I send it to Atlanta (where a friend can go to the Mac store and repair it), I need to know that this means it's still covered. I tried contacting apple but with everything being in Europe it's a lot harder for me to check it's validity in the US. I've read that for it to be covered cost-free they just need to validate that it's not something that occured by accident (like dropping it, hitting it with something, or something else that I may have done). It's cracked, but I didn't do anything, and it's in perfect condition (you won't find a bump or scratch anywhere beyond the screen). Will this be covered?

2. UNTIL I can fix it, I want to be able to use it, and I can't see the left side of the screen... (Change Aspect Ratio?)