Can't get past white screen on startup!

Reaction score
Hello!

So I happened to salvage an old 2009 MacBook Pro 15 inch non-retina. Didnt come with any hard drives and OS, so I threw in an SSD and made a bootable USB drive from MacOS Mountain Lion, in hopes of upgrading the OS later.

The issue is when I hold down control to access the startup options on boot, it comes up with a white screen and cursor, and nothing else!

I've tried loading from Safe Mode and recovery system. For a short time the apple logo showed but now I'm just getting the file with the question mark, regardless of what I do.

I've done the NVRAM and SMC resets, unplugged the SSD and ran just the USB itself, unplug the battery for a bit, and all the other jazz. Still no luck.

This is my first Apple product so I'm new to everything and the forums, but I also made the bootable USB from Windows 10 using TransMac. I don't know if that would make any difference but I'm just throwing out all the possible options.

Any ideas/tips on how to fix this? Like I said I'm new to all this so any help would be greatly appreciated. Thanks!

Reaction score
A couple of things:

1. What exact model SSD did you "throw" inside the machine (I assume you mean you installed it)?

2. To access and use the bootable USB drive, you would hold down the Option key while booting up the Mac (with the USB Flash Drive (I assume that is what Mountain Lion is on) plugged into one of the USB ports). You should then see USB drive as a choice to pick, for booting up your Mac.

3. How are you making posts here? Do you have another Mac? If so, what exact model is it?

Reaction score
@honestone thank you for your reply!

I actually have a 128gb Kingston SSD and a 64gb Crucial SSD is a CD drive caddy, planning on making them RAID 0

The issue is when I hold down option, I get a blank screen with just a mouse and nothing else

I have an ASUS laptop, so I'm making posts off of there

Reaction score