Cannot connect to server

Discussion in 'Mac OS X' started by Alistair Shield, Nov 5, 2017.

  1. Alistair Shield

    Alistair Shield New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2017
    Messages:
    23
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi all
    Can anybody hrlp please?

    Macbook Pro Mid 2012 running El Capitan

    I am getting cannot conect to server on the following:
    App store
    iTunes store
    Neptunes lastfm sign in
    Lastfm scrobbler sign in.
    (tried a ping to ws.audioscrobbler.com says host down, it wasn't)

    Suspect it is some sort of permission problen?

    Thank you
     
    Alistair Shield, Nov 5, 2017
    #1
    1. Advertisements

  2. Alistair Shield

    Cory Cooper Moderator

    Joined:
    May 19, 2004
    Messages:
    5,096
    Likes Received:
    149
    Hello,

    -I assume you can connect to other Internet sites?
    -Is this a new issue - did it connect previously?
    -Have you changed your router hardware or any settings in System Preferences > Network recently?

    C
     
    Cory Cooper, Nov 5, 2017
    #2
    1. Advertisements

  3. Alistair Shield

    Alistair Shield New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2017
    Messages:
    23
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thx for the reply.
    Internet fine, mail fine. It's just the items listed. I don'think I have changed anything and they were all working on Wednesday.
     
    Alistair Shield, Nov 5, 2017
    #3
  4. Alistair Shield

    Cory Cooper Moderator

    Joined:
    May 19, 2004
    Messages:
    5,096
    Likes Received:
    149
    No worries.

    -I assume you have restarted your Mac since the issue began?
    -Are you connected via Wi-Fi or Ethernet?
    -Are you using manually entered DNS server settings?

    C
     
    Cory Cooper, Nov 5, 2017
    #4
  5. Alistair Shield

    Alistair Shield New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2017
    Messages:
    23
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi
    Rebooted, on wifi, using local and 8.8.8.8
     
    Alistair Shield, Nov 5, 2017
    #5
  6. Alistair Shield

    Cory Cooper Moderator

    Joined:
    May 19, 2004
    Messages:
    5,096
    Likes Received:
    149
    Can you post a screenshot of the DNS settings window?

    C
     
    Cory Cooper, Nov 5, 2017
    #6
  7. Alistair Shield

    Alistair Shield New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2017
    Messages:
    23
    Likes Received:
    0
    As requested. Screenshot of DNS Screen Shot 2017-11-05 at 16.01.51.png
     
    Alistair Shield, Nov 5, 2017
    #7
  8. Alistair Shield

    Cory Cooper Moderator

    Joined:
    May 19, 2004
    Messages:
    5,096
    Likes Received:
    149
    OK...

    I would try removing DNS Servers: 192.168.1.128 and Search Domains: Local. See if that restores access. Do you have them entered for a specific reason?

    C
     
    Cory Cooper, Nov 5, 2017
    #8
  9. Alistair Shield

    Alistair Shield New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2017
    Messages:
    23
    Likes Received:
    0
    The local thing and 192.......were just there. Mac is a refurb, but had been wiped. Took them out, but no joy. Screen Shot 2017-11-05 at 16.21.24.png
     
    Alistair Shield, Nov 5, 2017
    #9
  10. Alistair Shield

    Cory Cooper Moderator

    Joined:
    May 19, 2004
    Messages:
    5,096
    Likes Received:
    149
    OK...

    Next thing to try: logout of the App Store, restart the Mac, log back in.

    C
     
    Cory Cooper, Nov 5, 2017
    #10
  11. Alistair Shield

    Alistair Shield New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2017
    Messages:
    23
    Likes Received:
    0
    Done :)
     
    Alistair Shield, Nov 5, 2017
    #11
  12. Alistair Shield

    Alistair Shield New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2017
    Messages:
    23
    Likes Received:
    0
    Still nothing
     
    Alistair Shield, Nov 5, 2017
    #12
  13. Alistair Shield

    Cory Cooper Moderator

    Joined:
    May 19, 2004
    Messages:
    5,096
    Likes Received:
    149
    OK...

    -Are the date & time correct on your Mac?
    -Do you have System Preferences... > Security & Privacy > Firewall enabled?
    -In System Preferences... > Network > Wi-Fi > Advanced... > Proxies is anything checked/enabled, and does it show *.local, 169.254/16 in the box below Bypass proxy settings for these Hosts & Domains:?
    -Are you using DHCP in the TCP/IP section of the Network preference pane?
    -You could try removing the 8.8.8.8 and 8.8.4.4, turn off Wi-Fi, turn it back on. It should autofill from your router.

    C
     
    Cory Cooper, Nov 5, 2017
    #13
  14. Alistair Shield

    Alistair Shield New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2017
    Messages:
    23
    Likes Received:
    0
    Date/time ok
    firewall enabled
    169.... is there no boxes ticked
    dhcp Yes
    wifi repopulated with 192........ as above
     
    Alistair Shield, Nov 5, 2017
    #14
  15. Alistair Shield

    Cory Cooper Moderator

    Joined:
    May 19, 2004
    Messages:
    5,096
    Likes Received:
    149
    Try turning off the Firewall

    C
     
    Cory Cooper, Nov 5, 2017
    #15
  16. Alistair Shield

    Alistair Shield New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2017
    Messages:
    23
    Likes Received:
    0
    No joy :(
     
    Alistair Shield, Nov 5, 2017
    #16
  17. Alistair Shield

    Cory Cooper Moderator

    Joined:
    May 19, 2004
    Messages:
    5,096
    Likes Received:
    149
    Wow...this is puzzling.

    -El Capitan 10.11.6, correct?
    -Do you have an iOS device that is connected to the same Wi-FI? If so, can they reach those services?
    -How about trying a modem/router power cycle...

    C
     
    Cory Cooper, Nov 5, 2017
    #17
  18. Alistair Shield

    Alistair Shield New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2017
    Messages:
    23
    Likes Received:
    0
    El Capitan 10.11.6, no other Apple device. I rebooted the rooter already
     
    Alistair Shield, Nov 5, 2017
    #18
  19. Alistair Shield

    Cory Cooper Moderator

    Joined:
    May 19, 2004
    Messages:
    5,096
    Likes Received:
    149
    OK, we'll go a little more nerdy...

    Is this Mac your only connection to Mac Help? If so, beware that this will reset all settings for Network and you may have to reconfigure a bit, including authenticating to your Wi-Fi network with user and password.

    Delete this file and restart you Mac immediately:
    /Library/Preferences/SystemConfiguration/NetworkInterfaces.plist

    C
     
    Cory Cooper, Nov 5, 2017
    #19
  20. Alistair Shield

    Alistair Shield New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2017
    Messages:
    23
    Likes Received:
    0
    Nope :(
     
    Alistair Shield, Nov 5, 2017
    #20
    1. Advertisements

Want to reply to this thread or ask your own question?

You'll need to choose a username for the site, which only take a couple of moments (here). After that, you can post your question and our members will help you out.
Similar Threads
  1. Newsbot
    Replies:
    0
    Views:
    747
    Newsbot
    Jun 8, 2007
  2. Newsbot
    Replies:
    0
    Views:
    777
    Newsbot
    Feb 12, 2008
  3. Newsbot
    Replies:
    0
    Views:
    705
    Newsbot
    May 12, 2008
  4. Newsbot
    Replies:
    0
    Views:
    859
    Newsbot
    May 29, 2008
  5. saphire7
    Replies:
    0
    Views:
    998
    saphire7
    Aug 12, 2008
  6. Oliver  Marshall
    Replies:
    1
    Views:
    210
    Oliver Marshall
    Nov 29, 2007
  7. Tim Joseph
    Replies:
    0
    Views:
    606
    Tim Joseph
    Jul 24, 2004
  8. Chris
    Replies:
    2
    Views:
    512
    David Kennedy
    Mar 6, 2006
Loading...